Insurance

Independent and trusted tests, investigations and buying guides of home and car, travel and personal insurance.

Top 10 Popular Articles

Family playing soccer on a beach

Health insurance comparisons

30 Jun 2014 | We review 20 open funds in Australia, with recommendations to suit a variety of people in different life stages.   More »

Airport

Travel insurance buying guide

01 May 2008 | This article helps you decide on insurance for international travel, tells you about cover and exclusions and gives tips about how you can save money.   More »

home and contents insurance

Home and contents insurance reviews

17 Jan 2014 | We review 64 home and contents insurance products from 29 different brands right across Australia, including AAMI, GIO, NRMA and Suncorp.  More »

Father and son

Income protection insurance

04 May 2011 | CHOICE teamed up with Rice Warner Actuaries to evaluate agreed, indemnity and superannuation policies.  More »

Car insurance

Car insurance reviews and comparisons

28 Aug 2013 | We review 44 car insurance policies for each state and territory.  More »

Life insurance application form

Life insurance

25 Oct 2013 | It’s more important than ever to know how much you’re paying for life insurance and what you'll get in return. We look at term life insurance policies from 15 insurers and 10 large industry super funds.  More »

Model car

Car insurance fact sheet.

20 May 2013 | Even if you drive a bomb you don’t think is worth insuring you’re still wise to take out some form of insurance.  More »

Keyboard

Private health insurance buying guide

28 Jan 2009 | Broadly speaking, you can choose hospital cover and extras/ancillary cover. These are available separately or combined.  More »

Family outside home

Home and contents insurance fact sheet

20 Oct 2011 | Estimates vary, but some say up to 80% of Australian homes are underinsured.   More »

pet-insurance-lead-dog-funnel-bandage-ss-63583846

Pet insurance reviews

04 Apr 2014 | Pet insurance reviews from CHOICE not only reveal the best value cover but also expose common traps.   More »

Top 10 Recent Articles

couple-on-a-moped

Travel insurance review

12 Nov 2014 | We compare over 80 travel insurance policies from 30 insurers offering cover for backpackers, singles, couples, families and seniors. Check our recommendations to find the best travel insurance policy for you.  More »

Insurance

Funeral insurance

10 Nov 2014 | Funeral insurance purchased too early can end up costing more than the costs of the funeral itself.   More »

closed health funds

Cheap health cover - members only

07 Nov 2014 | Restricted health funds are open to former and current employees and their families working in many industries from defence, forestry, electricity, transport and steel workers to bank, health and education workers.  More »

Family playing soccer on a beach

Health insurance comparisons

30 Jun 2014 | We review 20 open funds in Australia, with recommendations to suit a variety of people in different life stages.   More »

home-perils-fire-bushfire-storm-flood

Flooded by home insurance premiums

16 Jul 2014 | A lot has changed with flood cover on home insurance, and a lot has remained the same. How are insurers pricing flood into your home insurance premium?  More »

Life insurance application form

Life insurance

25 Oct 2013 | It’s more important than ever to know how much you’re paying for life insurance and what you'll get in return. We look at term life insurance policies from 15 insurers and 10 large industry super funds.  More »

home and contents insurance

Home and contents insurance reviews

17 Jan 2014 | We review 64 home and contents insurance products from 29 different brands right across Australia, including AAMI, GIO, NRMA and Suncorp.  More »

pet-insurance-lead-dog-funnel-bandage-ss-63583846

Pet insurance reviews

04 Apr 2014 | Pet insurance reviews from CHOICE not only reveal the best value cover but also expose common traps.   More »

Home warranty insurance is not so sweet.

Home warranty insurance

06 Mar 2014 | Home warranty insurance is supposed to protect homeowners from incompetent builders, but it doesn’t do much to protect against unscrupulous ones.  More »

Extras health insurance

Should you drop extras health insurance?

28 Feb 2014 | Extras health insurance is meant to help with smaller ongoing costs, such as a dental check-up or new glasses or contact lenses. But how much does it really help?  More »

Join CHOICE Online

Discover the benefits of membership.
Just $7.98/month
*Billed quarterly as $23.95

The Consumer’s Champion

CHOICE advocacy
Over 50 years as the consumer voice

 
Learn more
 

Video gallery

     
     
     

    Polls

     
     

    Have you felt pressured by salespeople when shopping for car insurance?

      
    56%
     
    No
      
    43%
     
    Yes
    • 913 votes

    Sign up to our free
    e-Newsletter

    Receive FREE email updates of our latest tests, consumer news and CHOICE marketing promotions.