Nutrition

Independent and trusted reviews and tests nutrition products, including information about fast food, salt, sweeteners, and wholegrains.

a bowl of chia seeds

Chia seeds: superfood or fad?

We check whether chia deserves its superfood status.

24 Jul 2014 | Once the domain of health food stores, chia has gone mainstream. We check out this seed’s superfood credentials.

Fermented foods in jars

Fermented foods

Claims for astounding health benefits abound, but which ones stand up to closer scrutiny?

9 Jul 2014 | From yoghurt and sauerkraut to kefir and kombucha, CHOICE reviews different types of fermented foods to find whether they live up to claimed health benefits.

Woman training at gym

Protein supplements

There's a protein supplement for just about everyone these days - but how useful are they?

28 Apr 2014 | Protein supplements (mainly in the form of drink powders and bars) are marketed for weight loss, muscle mass building and post-exercise recovery, targeting dieters, elderly people and athletes. They may be helpful sometimes, but whether they're necessary is debatable.

coconut oil in bottle

Is coconut oil healthy?

Is coconut oil all it’s cracked up to be, or just another fad? We investigate to find out whether it lives up to the health hype.

23 Feb 2014 | Coconut oil is being hailed as the next big thing. CHOICE finds out what the experts have to say about this year’s latest food trend.

healthy takeaways

Healthier takeaway food

Australians have takeaway for dinner on average 2.5 times a week. Is it a weight-gain disaster or a manageable habit?

4 Feb 2014 | Australia's love affair with takeaway is adding more salt, sugar and saturated fat to our diet. CHOICE looks at how you can keep trim without sacrificing the convenience of a Chinese, Thai or Indian takeaway.

Junkfood_Lead2

Junk food advertising to kids

One in four Australian children is overweight or obese. Is the all-pervasive junk food advertising to children part of the problem?

25 Nov 2013 | Around the globe, governments and communities are grappling with the social, financial and health costs of overweight and obese populations. Is restricting junk food advertising to kids part of the solution?

ONLINE_FrozenYoghurt_LEAD_FroyoBowl

Culture clash: frozen yoghurt

The cold facts on froyo chains' health claims

2 Sep 2013 | Choice reviewed frozen yoghurt - or froyo - shops, and found they can be just as dangerous to your hip pocket as your waistline.

Supermarket diet foods

Supermarket diet foods

We talk to the experts about popular diet brands and whether they can really help you lose weight.

7 May 2013 | Are diet foods from popular brands such as Weight Watchers, McCain Healthy Choice or Coles Simply Less really a healthier choice than regular foods?

Superfoods

Everyday 'superfoods'

Which nine foods available from the supermarket could help you live a longer and better quality of life?

30 Apr 2013 | Filling up your trolley with everyday grocery items such as olive oil, wholegrains and yoghurt could help you reduce your risk of certain diseases.

Not so superfoods

Raw 'superfoods'

From chia seeds to acai berries, we look beyond the hype to find out if the health benefits of some so-called "superfoods" live up to their claims.

23 Apr 2013 | Some foods claim to do everything from prevent cancer to help you lose weight, but do they deserve to be touted as super?

Newsletter sign-up

Get free updates on CHOICE's latest tests and reports.

The Consumer’s Champion

CHOICE advocacy
Over 50 years as the consumer voice

 
Learn more
 
 

Polls

 
 

If you're a member of a supermarket loyalty program, have you noticed any significant savings?

  
67%
 
No
  
15%
 
Not sure
  
17%
 
Yes
  • 674 votes

Sign up to our free
e-Newsletter

Receive FREE email updates of our latest tests, consumer news and CHOICE marketing promotions.