Washing machines

Independent and trusted reviews, tests and buying guides to compare prices and performance of washing machines and dryers.

Clothes dryer reviews

Clothes dryer reviews

We put over 30 clothes dryers to the test, including vented, condenser and electric heat pump condenser models, and one gas dryer.

27 Feb 2014 | We put the latest clothes dryers through rigorous tests in our labs. Find out which are the best performers.

Washing machine

Washing machine reviews

We’ve tested more than 60 washing machines, including models from Bosch, Electrolux, Fisher & Paykel, LG, Miele, Samsung, Simpson and Westinghouse.

17 Feb 2014 | Find out which washers from all the major brands rate best for dirt removal, rinse performance and water and energy efficiency.

Laundry powder

Laundry detergent reviews

We've tested powders, liquids, pods and gels to find which laundry detergents perform the best.

6 Feb 2013 | We've compared the top-selling laundry detergents for both top- and front loaders - 64 in all - to find which are the best at removing stains.

caring-stuff-lead

Caring for clothes, shoes and accessories

In an increasingly disposable world, CHOICE rediscovers the art of caring for jewellery, shoes, clothing and leather goods.

6 Nov 2012 | Australian households spend thousands of dollars a year on clothing, shoes and accessories. So how should you take care of your investments?

washer-dryer-buying-guide

Washer/dryer combo buying guide

A washer/dryer combo is a tempting option when you've limited space, but there are some drawbacks.

1 Jul 2012 | Combined washing machine and dryer units sound like the ultimate laundry convenience — you put dirty clothes in and take out clean, dry clothes.

Washing machine buying guide

Washing machines buying guide

Front loader or top loader? CHOICE tells you what to look for in a new washing machine.

1 Jul 2012 | Use our quick buying guide to decide which type is right for you and what features you need.

absurd-whitegoods-features-lead

Absurd whitegoods features

Do the special features on your washing machine actually mean anything?

13 Jun 2012 | Often the special functions on your washing machine and dryer are just marketing hype.

FLAskoDryingCabinet

Asko Drying Cabinet first look

This alternative to a tumble dryer evaporates moisture in much the same way as hanging clothes on the line.

17 Jan 2012 | Many items in today’s wash are not suitable for tumble dryers. This is where the Asko Drying Cabinet DC7573 comes in.

appliances-country-of-origin

Country of origin

Where are your products made? It's unlikely that you'll find a major product manufactured that is made wholly in one country.

11 Jan 2012 | CHOICE lists country of origin on whitegoods and appliances and other non-food products due to our members' wishes.

OMO_new_WEB

OMO Pods first look

OMO says these liquid capsules contain its ‘most advanced liquid ever’ – but does it deliver?

6 Oct 2011 | CHOICE finds out whether these water soluble pods are any different to a standard liquid detergent.

Newsletter sign-up

Get free updates on CHOICE's latest tests and reports.

Join CHOICE Online

Discover the benefits of membership.
Just $7.98/month
*Billed quarterly as $23.95

 
Learn more
 
 
 
Give the special gift of CHOICE

Sign up to our free
e-Newsletter

Receive FREE email updates of our latest tests, consumer news and CHOICE marketing promotions.