Visual

Independent and trusted reviews, tests and buying guides to compare price and performance of home entertainment products including TVs - plasma, LED, LCD - set-top boxes, PVRs, CD, DVD and Blu-Ray Players.

Top 10 Popular Articles

Televisions

102-107cm TV reviews

02 Feb 2012 | CHOICE puts the latest 102-107cm HD plasma and LCD televisions through their paces.  More »

HD-STB-LEAD-1055_WEB

HD set-top box reviews

13 Oct 2011 | We put 14 set-top boxes, priced from $80 to $150, through their paces, and find out which ones come out on top.  More »

Flat screen TV with image of Uluru

117cm TV reviews

31 Oct 2011 | CHOICE reviews the latest 117cm LCD and plasma TVs, priced $1199 to $3799.  More »

TV

LCD vs plasma TV buying guide

27 Jul 2010 | Plasma or LCD TV? Buying a TV in the 21st century is no mean feat. CHOICE suggests some things to consider before you buy.  More »

DVD-lead

DVD recorders with DVR review

12 Oct 2009 | CHOICE looked at the latest selection of digital solutions that not only record TV programs to an internal hard drive, but also play DVDs and record to a DVD.   More »

Tvs in a store

106cm TV reviews

01 Feb 2011 | We take the guesswork out of buying the major television brands by putting them through their paces in our specialised laboratories.  More »

Man watching television

CHOICE guide to digital TV

08 Oct 2010 | Your normal analogue TV will go blank if you haven’t invested in a set-top-box or digital ready TV by 2013. So, what is digital TV and why have it?  More »

TiVo

TiVo review

11 Nov 2009 | TiVo offers a means of recording free-to-air digital TV without having to learn too much about the inner workings of the machine.   More »

Plasma and LCD Tvs

127-132cm TV reviews

03 Feb 2012 | Not all big HD TVs are 1920 x 1080, but that doesn't mean you can't get a good picture on a slightly lower resolution.  More »

66cm LCD television

66cm TVs review

01 May 2009 | CHOICE takes the guesswork out of buying the major television brands by putting them through their paces in our specialised laboratories.  More »

Top 10 Recent Articles

TVs-lead

TV reviews

29 Sep 2014 | Which TV best suits your needs? Confused by LED,LCD or UHD? Our review will help you make the critical decisions.  More »

console-updates-lead

Battle of the consoles: Xbox One, PS4 and Wii U

25 Jun 2014 | The PlayStation 4 and Xbox One have been on shelves for just over six months, while the Wii U has been around for 18. Here’s how each console compares.  More »

Choice staff playing a board game

Board games in the modern age

03 Jun 2014 | Remember Snakes and ladders? How about Monopoly? These and other board games such as Settlers of Catan are enjoying a massive resurgence, as video-game fans and new players are turning towards the tabletop. We find out why.   More »

fl-wii-u

Nintendo Wii U review

12 May 2014 | The Nintendo Wii has sold more than 100 million units since its launch six years ago. We spent some time with its successor, the Wii U, to find out if Nintendo will rock the gaming world again.  More »

55EA9800-TA OLED TV by LG

LG OLED TV first look

20 Dec 2013 | OLED is the latest technology in televisions. CHOICE checks out the new-release OLED TV from LG.  More »

PS4Lead

PlayStation 4 review

30 Jan 2014 | The PlayStation 4 is the last of the eighth-generation consoles to hit the shelves. How does it stack up against the competition?  More »

Universal Remotes

Universal remote control reviews

22 Jan 2014 | The idea behind a universal remote control is to allow you to reduce the number of remotes in your lounge room to one easy-to-use device.  More »

dvr/pvr unit

PVR reviews

10 Jan 2014 | We review eight of the latest PVRs including models with DVD/Blu-ray drives, priced between $149 and $699.  More »

LG-55LA8600

LG Smart TVs

03 Dec 2013 | After reports that LG Smart TVs are sending information on users’ files and watching habits to an LG website, CHOICE decided to see if it was happening in Australia.  More »

CHOICE journalist Peter Zaluzny trying out the Xbox One

Review: Xbox One

27 Nov 2013 | We lined up at midnight on launch day to get our hands on the Xbox One, the first major overhaul of the Xbox in eight years. Here's what we found.  More »

Request a
CHOICE test

Help us choose what products and services to test next.

Join CHOICE Online

Discover the benefits of membership.
Just $7.98/month
*Billed quarterly as $23.95

 
Learn more
 
 

Polls

 
 

What apps do you use on your new Smart TV?

  
8%
 
BigPond Movies
  
1%
 
Facebook
  
19%
 
iView
  
2%
 
Quickflix
  
0%
 
Twitter
  
3%
 
Web browser
  
11%
 
YouTube
  
3%
 
Other
  
12%
 
I find the apps too difficult to use
  
36%
 
What's a SmartTV?
  • 1102 votes

Sign up to our free
e-Newsletter

Receive FREE email updates of our latest tests, consumer news and CHOICE marketing promotions.