Sound

Independent and trusted reviews, tests and buying guides. Compare price and performance of headphones, earphones, home theatre systems, radios and audio accessories.

Top 10 Popular Articles

digital-radio-lead

Portable desktop digital radio reviews

04 Feb 2013 | We've tested portable digital radios from Bush, Pure, Roberts and Sangean among others for sound quality, ease of operation and their ability to hold a signal.  More »

ONLINE_Lead_HomeTheatreSystems

Home theatre system reviews

12 Sep 2013 | We test the latest all-in-one home theatre systems, priced from $699 to $1499.  More »

IPodDock_Lead_web

iPod speaker dock reviews

01 Mar 2012 | Price is no guarantee of quality when it comes to iPod docks.  More »

AV receiver

Audiovisual receivers buying guide

05 Apr 2012 | When you buy a home theatre in a box the AV receiver and DVD player are often combined. However, there's good reasons to buy separate components.  More »

Cables

Digital AV cables rip-off

18 Feb 2009 | How much money should you spend on your home entertainment cables to feel confident about sound and image quality? CHOICE finds out.  More »

mini hi-fi lead

Mini hi-fi system reviews

05 Aug 2009 | Our test of mini hi-fi systems reveals they are packed with more features than speaker docks but are more pricey. We put 10 through their paces.  More »

Noise cancelling headphone reviews

Noise-cancelling headphones and earphones reviews

04 Apr 2012 | Test results for seven noise-cancelling headphones and six noise-cancelling earphones.   More »

headphones-lead

Headphones reviews

10 Apr 2013 | CHOICE reviews 16 pairs of headphones, priced from $198 to $300, including models from Beats, Bose, Fanny Wang and Ultrasone.  More »

Digital radio ad

Guide to digital radios

19 Jan 2009 | If you're keen to experience the difference digital technology makes to the radio waves you will have to open your wallet along with your eyes and ears.  More »

Speaker dock

Speaker dock reviews

18 Apr 2008 | These speaker docks let you listen to your music aloud, but don’t expect too much in terms of sound quality.   More »

Top 10 Recent Articles

fl-pure-audio-lead

Pure Audio review

11 Apr 2014 | Pure Audio is a an uncompressed music format delivered via Blu-ray disc that can be played on any Blu-ray player as well as the Sony PS3 or PS4.   More »

AV_receiver_Lead_APR22012_WEB

Surround sound AV receiver reviews

27 Nov 2013 | We test 16 surround sound AV receivers, to find out which models have the best sound quality, and are the easiest to use.  More »

ONLINE_Lead_Soundbars

Soundbar reviews

30 Jul 2013 | All the soundbars on test deliver better sound than you’ll get from your TV, but some demand a lot more money than others for the privilege.  More »

ONLINE_Lead_HomeTheatreSystems

Home theatre system reviews

12 Sep 2013 | We test the latest all-in-one home theatre systems, priced from $699 to $1499.  More »

ONLINE_Lead_HomeTheatreSystems

Quick look: home theatre

10 Sep 2013 | CHOICE provides a realistic look at home theatre in a box.  More »

wireless-speakers-lead4

Wireless speakers reviews

17 Apr 2013 | We review 16 wireless speakers, priced from $199 to $799, including models from Sony, Bose Pioneer, Sonos and Logitech.  More »

headphones-lead

Headphones reviews

10 Apr 2013 | CHOICE reviews 16 pairs of headphones, priced from $198 to $300, including models from Beats, Bose, Fanny Wang and Ultrasone.  More »

digital-radio-lead

Portable desktop digital radio reviews

04 Feb 2013 | We've tested portable digital radios from Bush, Pure, Roberts and Sangean among others for sound quality, ease of operation and their ability to hold a signal.  More »

AV receiver

Audiovisual receivers buying guide

05 Apr 2012 | When you buy a home theatre in a box the AV receiver and DVD player are often combined. However, there's good reasons to buy separate components.  More »

Noise cancelling headphone reviews

Noise-cancelling headphones and earphones reviews

04 Apr 2012 | Test results for seven noise-cancelling headphones and six noise-cancelling earphones.   More »

Join CHOICE Online

Discover the benefits of membership.
Just $7.98/month
*Billed quarterly as $23.95

Request a
CHOICE test

Help us choose what products and services to test next.

 
Learn more
 
 

Polls

 
 

How much would you spend on a home theatre system?

  
20%
 
$100 - $499
  
29%
 
$500 - $999
  
50%
 
$1000+

Sign up to our free
e-Newsletter

Receive FREE email updates of our latest tests, consumer news and CHOICE marketing promotions.