Sound

Independent and trusted reviews, tests and buying guides. Compare price and performance of headphones, earphones, home theatre systems, radios and audio accessories.

Top 10 Popular Articles

digital-radio-lead

Portable desktop digital radio reviews

04 Feb 2013 | We've tested portable digital radios from Bush, Pure, Roberts and Sangean among others for sound quality, ease of operation and their ability to hold a signal.  More »

ONLINE_Lead_HomeTheatreSystems

Home theatre system reviews

12 Sep 2013 | We test the latest all-in-one home theatre systems, priced from $699 to $1499.  More »

IPodDock_Lead_web

iPod speaker dock reviews

01 Mar 2012 | Price is no guarantee of quality when it comes to iPod docks.  More »

AV receiver

Audiovisual receivers buying guide

05 Apr 2012 | When you buy a home theatre in a box the AV receiver and DVD player are often combined. However, there's good reasons to buy separate components.  More »

Cables

Digital AV cables rip-off

18 Feb 2009 | How much money should you spend on your home entertainment cables to feel confident about sound and image quality? CHOICE finds out.  More »

mini hi-fi lead

Mini hi-fi system reviews

05 Aug 2009 | Our test of mini hi-fi systems reveals they are packed with more features than speaker docks but are more pricey. We put 10 through their paces.  More »

Noise cancelling headphone reviews

Noise-cancelling headphones and earphones reviews

04 Apr 2012 | Test results for seven noise-cancelling headphones and six noise-cancelling earphones.   More »

Man relaxing on sofa wearing headphones

Headphones review

08 May 2014 | We review 13 headphones, including Beats by Dre, Bose and Sennheiser, to find the ones with the best sound quality to help you choose the best headphones at the right price.  More »

Digital radio ad

Guide to digital radios

19 Jan 2009 | If you're keen to experience the difference digital technology makes to the radio waves you will have to open your wallet along with your eyes and ears.  More »

Speaker dock

Speaker dock reviews

18 Apr 2008 | These speaker docks let you listen to your music aloud, but don’t expect too much in terms of sound quality.   More »

Top 10 Recent Articles

emergency-radios-lead-upd

Emergency radio reviews

10 Jun 2014 | CHOICE tests six radios designed with an emergency in mind. All can run on batteries or by cranking the handle. Five have a solar charger as well.  More »

Man relaxing on sofa wearing headphones

Headphones review

08 May 2014 | We review 13 headphones, including Beats by Dre, Bose and Sennheiser, to find the ones with the best sound quality to help you choose the best headphones at the right price.  More »

fl-pure-audio-lead

Pure Audio review

11 Apr 2014 | Pure Audio is a an uncompressed music format delivered via Blu-ray disc that can be played on any Blu-ray player as well as the Sony PS3 or PS4.   More »

AV_receiver_Lead_APR22012_WEB

Surround sound AV receiver reviews

27 Nov 2013 | We test 16 surround sound AV receivers, to find out which models have the best sound quality, and are the easiest to use.  More »

ONLINE_Lead_Soundbars

Soundbar reviews

30 Jul 2013 | All the soundbars on test deliver better sound than you’ll get from your TV, but some demand a lot more money than others for the privilege.  More »

ONLINE_Lead_HomeTheatreSystems

Home theatre system reviews

12 Sep 2013 | We test the latest all-in-one home theatre systems, priced from $699 to $1499.  More »

ONLINE_Lead_HomeTheatreSystems

Quick look: home theatre

10 Sep 2013 | CHOICE provides a realistic look at home theatre in a box.  More »

wireless-speakers-lead4

Wireless speakers reviews

17 Apr 2013 | We review 16 wireless speakers, priced from $199 to $799, including models from Sony, Bose Pioneer, Sonos and Logitech.  More »

digital-radio-lead

Portable desktop digital radio reviews

04 Feb 2013 | We've tested portable digital radios from Bush, Pure, Roberts and Sangean among others for sound quality, ease of operation and their ability to hold a signal.  More »

AV receiver

Audiovisual receivers buying guide

05 Apr 2012 | When you buy a home theatre in a box the AV receiver and DVD player are often combined. However, there's good reasons to buy separate components.  More »

Join CHOICE Online

Discover the benefits of membership.
Just $7.98/month
*Billed quarterly as $23.95

Request a
CHOICE test

Help us choose what products and services to test next.

 
Learn more
 
 

Polls

 
 

How much would you spend on a home theatre system?

  
20%
 
$100 - $499
  
30%
 
$500 - $999
  
49%
 
$1000+

Sign up to our free
e-Newsletter

Receive FREE email updates of our latest tests, consumer news and CHOICE marketing promotions.