Bikes and cycling

Independent and trusted reviews of bike accessories and buying guides to help you choose the right adult's bike or children's bike.

Bike light

Bike light reviews

We've tested more than 100 bike light models, including brands such as Cateye, NiteRider and Lezyne.

5 May 2014 | Find out which of 109 bike lights, priced from $15 to $350, we recommend, based on their visibility, durability and ease of fitting and removing them.

CHOICE checks out electric bikes

Electric bike reviews

Test results for 18 electric bike options ranging in price from $1050 to $3299.

14 Jan 2014 | Electric bikes are gaining traction in the bike market and there are many reasons why you may prefer some assistance with your pedal power.

ONLINE_BuyingBikeGuide_Lead

How to buy a bike

What you need to know when shopping for that new set of wheels

8 Nov 2013 | If you’re in the market for a new bike, your options can be overwhelming. We look at what you really need to know when buying a commuter bike.

FL-Bike-GPS001_WEB

Bicycle GPS first look

CHOICE takes a look at two GPS Bike offerings

1 Nov 2011 | We put two GPS devices designed for bicycles through their paces to see what's on offer at the expensive and inexpensive ends of the market.

Taga as bike

Taga convertible bike/stroller

This ingeniously designed bike/stroller sadly doesn’t meet the grade in either mode.

21 Jan 2011 | CHOICE puts the eye-catching Taga bike/stroller to the test.

Bike_lead_sm

Bike accessory reviews

See our round-up and recommendations for all the hottest accessories, including lights, locks, baskets, racks and floor pumps.

7 Aug 2010 | CHOICE joins forces with our friends at Bicycle Victoria to give you the bike riding essentials.

Two people on bikes

Getting around on a bike

Cycling is booming in Australia — not just for recreation but for transport.

29 Feb 2008 | Cycling for transport is on the increase. CHOICE tells you how to find your way around, and keep safe on the roads.

Mini folding bike

Mini folding bike quick review

This A-bike may have a clever design, but our testers considered it a B-grade ride.

2 Jan 2008 | At first glance, this mini aluminium folding bike seems like a great alternative to a scooter

Man riding folding bike

Folding bike reviews

Cycling is a great way to save time, save money and get a bit of exercise. But are folding bikes up to the challenge?

11 Dec 2007 | CHOICE tested seven folding bikes with a range of designs and prices, to see what sort of quality and ride you get.

 

Join CHOICE Online

Discover the benefits of membership.
Just $7.98/month
*Billed quarterly as $23.95

Request a
CHOICE test

Help us choose what products and services to test next.

 
Learn more
 

Sign up to our free
e-Newsletter

Receive FREE email updates of our latest tests, consumer news and CHOICE marketing promotions.