Heating and cooling

Independent and trusted reviews, tests and buying guides of heating and cooling products for your home.

Top 10 Popular Articles

Home Insulation

Home Insulation Buying Guide

04 Feb 2010 | We run through the options for insulating your home.   More »

air-conditioners-lead

Air conditioner reviews

10 Apr 2014 | Over 130 reverse-cycle split-system inverter air conditioners compared and reviewed, including models from Daikin, Fujitsu, Panasonic and more.  More »

Woman on lounge

Small air conditioners review 2009

06 Mar 2009 | Air conditioners are usually thought of as a summer appliance, but a reverse cycle model can also be an effective way to heat your home.  More »

Small fan

Natural air conditioner

27 Nov 2011 | Preventing your house from getting too hot should be your first priority. Make sure it's properly insulated, draught-proof, shaded and ventilated.   More »

Ceiling Fan Reviews

Ceiling fan reviews

27 Aug 2013 | If you don’t want to spend big bucks on air conditioning, ceiling fans offer a cheaper, energy-efficient cooling solution and the latest range also includes DC powered models and one that works off the grid using 12V power.  More »

Reverse cycle air conditioner

Ducted reverse-cycle air conditioning buying guide

19 Jan 2012 | Before you spend thousands of dollars to have a system installed (and several hundred dollars a year to run it), consider other cooling and heating options.  More »

ONLINE_Lead_PortableAirCons

Portable air conditioner reviews

25 Oct 2013 | Our test covers models priced between $599 and $1499, from brands including DeLonghi, Dimplex, Convair and Omega.  More »

Air conditioner

Large air conditioners review 2008

26 Aug 2008 | An ever-increasing number of Australians are getting air conditioning installed, or moving into a new home that delivers a cooling breeze at the touch of a button.  More »

Electric heater on floor

Electric heater reviews

21 May 2014 | Kill the chill with a portable electric heater. Check our results for newly tested models from DeLonghi, Dyson, Sunbeam and more.  More »

Baby sleeping

Heating options for your home buying guide

09 Jul 2012 | Did you freeze last winter? Were you in shock after reading the energy bill? Then it may be time to change the way you heat your home.   More »

Top 10 Recent Articles

Flued flame-effect gas heater

Gas heater buying guide

05 Aug 2014 | Flued or unflued? That's the number one question when it comes to gas heaters.   More »

Three pairs of hands being heated over an electric heater

Electric heater buying guide

29 Jul 2014 | By buying the right electric heater, you’ll keep yourself toasty and your energy bills at bay. Our electric heater buying guide will set you on the right track.   More »

Water condensing on blue glass surface

Dehumidifier reviews

08 Jul 2014 | 22 dehumidifiers reviewed, including models from DeLonghi, Dimplex, Omega Altise and Ionmax, rated from 10L to 30L per day and priced from $248 to $880.  More »

Electric heater on floor

Electric heater reviews

21 May 2014 | Kill the chill with a portable electric heater. Check our results for newly tested models from DeLonghi, Dyson, Sunbeam and more.  More »

flame effect heater warming room

CHOICE guide to heating your home

20 May 2014 | Winter is here, so it's time to consider your heating options. Here are our tips to reduce your energy use and your bills.   More »

air-conditioners-lead

Air conditioner reviews

10 Apr 2014 | Over 130 reverse-cycle split-system inverter air conditioners compared and reviewed, including models from Daikin, Fujitsu, Panasonic and more.  More »

ONLINE_Lead_PortableAirCons

Portable air conditioner reviews

25 Oct 2013 | Our test covers models priced between $599 and $1499, from brands including DeLonghi, Dimplex, Convair and Omega.  More »

Ceiling Fan Reviews

Ceiling fan reviews

27 Aug 2013 | If you don’t want to spend big bucks on air conditioning, ceiling fans offer a cheaper, energy-efficient cooling solution and the latest range also includes DC powered models and one that works off the grid using 12V power.  More »

pedestal-fan-lead

Pedestal and tower fan reviews

27 Nov 2012 | We test 10 pedestal and tower fans, priced from $20 to $599, including models from Dyson, Kambrook, and Sunbeam.  More »

Baby sleeping

Heating options for your home buying guide

09 Jul 2012 | Did you freeze last winter? Were you in shock after reading the energy bill? Then it may be time to change the way you heat your home.   More »

Newsletter sign-up

Get free updates on CHOICE's latest tests and reports.

The Consumer’s Champion

CHOICE advocacy
Over 50 years as the consumer voice

 
Learn more
 
 
 
Give the special gift of CHOICE

Video gallery

     
     

    Sign up to our free
    e-Newsletter

    Receive FREE email updates of our latest tests, consumer news and CHOICE marketing promotions.