Set-top boxes and PVRs

Independent and trusted reviews, tests and buying guides. Compare price and performance of set-top boxes and PVRs.

dvr/pvr unit

PVR reviews

Take control of your TV viewing. Find the right PVR to suit you needs.

10 Jan 2014 | We review eight of the latest PVRs including models with DVD/Blu-ray drives, priced between $149 and $699.

HD-STB-LEAD-1055_WEB

HD set-top box reviews

A high-definition set-top box is an inexpensive way to upgrade to digital TV.

13 Oct 2011 | We put 14 set-top boxes, priced from $80 to $150, through their paces, and find out which ones come out on top.

tivo_vs_tbox_lead_new1

TiVo vs T-Box

Is the Telstra T-Box a serious alternative to the TiVo? Our techies argue the toss.

7 Dec 2010 | See our video of these two popular contenders.

QR-T-BOX001

Telstra T-Box first look

While not for everyone, this DVR for Bigpond customers has a lot going for it.

6 Dec 2010 | The Telstra T-Box is a DVR that integrates with Telstra's internet TV channels. You can also rent, download and watch box office movies.

setTopBoxSM

HD set top boxes with USB connection

These devices are a cheaper alternative to a digital video recorder – but you only get what you pay for.

22 Jun 2010 | These products may save you money, but you'll have to compromise on features and performance.

Kogan STB

Kogan set top box first look

Kogan releases a well-priced STB that doubles as a digital video recorder.

16 Mar 2010 | This set top box (STB) has a USB connection for an external hard drive that converts the STB into a digital video recorder.

SONY PlayTV

Sony PlayTV First Look

This add-on device for PlayStation3 owners has its limitations.

3 Dec 2009 | The Sony PlayTV struggles to provide an effective two-in-one games console and personal video recorder machine.

TiVo

TiVo review

TiVo is a new way to record TV. Find out how it performs.

11 Nov 2009 | TiVo offers a means of recording free-to-air digital TV without having to learn too much about the inner workings of the machine.

HD-set-top-box

HD set top boxes 2008

High-definition set-top boxes on test – should you buy one?

1 Dec 2008 | High definition set-top boxes are designed to replace your existing television’s tuner.

PVR twin tuner

PVR twin tuners review 2008

They're still on their training wheels, but at around $1,000, you'd expect more.

29 Jan 2008 | A twin tuner HD personal video recorder can record shows on two different channels at the same time but which one should you buy?

Request a
CHOICE test

Help us choose what products and services to test next.

Join CHOICE Online

Discover the benefits of membership.
Just $7.98/month
*Billed quarterly as $23.95

 
Learn more
 

Sign up to our free
e-Newsletter

Receive FREE email updates of our latest tests, consumer news and CHOICE marketing promotions.