Mobile computers

Independent and trusted reviews, tests and buying guides to compare price and performance of mobile computers. Including laptops, netbooks and tablet computers.

Top 10 Popular Articles

budget laptop reviews - laptop

Budget laptop reviews

16 Oct 2014 | You don’t have to sacrifice speed when buying a cheap laptop. We test 14 low-cost laptops that provide a good combination of power and features at a reasonable price.  More »

BYO laptop

Back-to-school tech-buying guide

20 Dec 2013 | What you need to know before you buy a computer for your child's back-to-school needs  More »

ONLINE_LaptopBuyingGuide_LEAD

Laptops buying guide

05 Dec 2013 | Our buying guide tells you everything you need to know about buying a laptop in easy-to-understand terms.  More »

$name

Netbooks and small laptop reviews

28 Feb 2011 | It’s the holy grail of laptop computing – a compact device you can carry everywhere, but with all the features you need at a reasonable price.  More »

Laptop

Multimedia notebooks review

13 Jun 2008 | If you’re looking for a successor to your trusty old desktop computer but don’t want the bulk of a traditional PC, you might want to consider a portable multimedia powerhouse instead.  More »

Ultraportable

Ultraportable laptops review

16 Oct 2008 | If you’re always on-the-go and don’t want to leave your home or office behind, you need a laptop that won’t weigh you down — and that’s where the ultraportable category shines.  More »

i_pad

Apple iPad First Look

31 May 2010 | How good is the Apple iPad? Our video tells you what everyday users think of it.   More »

$name

USB TV tuner reviews

19 Nov 2010 | We test 12 go-anywhere digital TV tuners for your PC.  More »

Asus eee PC laptop review

Asus eee PC laptop review

09 Apr 2008 | cool, compact and cheap. At just under $500, it’s the cheapest full-featured laptop on the market.   More »

ONLINE_Firstlook_ChromeBooks

Google Chromebooks first look

17 May 2013 | We take a hands-on look at the first two Chromebooks available in Australia. How do they stack up compared with a regular laptop?  More »

Top 10 Recent Articles

budget laptop reviews - laptop

Budget laptop reviews

16 Oct 2014 | You don’t have to sacrifice speed when buying a cheap laptop. We test 14 low-cost laptops that provide a good combination of power and features at a reasonable price.  More »

Productivity apps for tablet

App roundup: free productivity programs

20 Mar 2014 | Having trouble getting things done? Feeling a bit overwhelmed by your to do list? These free productivity apps could be the answer.  More »

BYO laptop

Back-to-school tech-buying guide

20 Dec 2013 | What you need to know before you buy a computer for your child's back-to-school needs  More »

ASUS Transformer T100

First look: Asus Transformer Book T100

29 Jan 2014 | The T100 cuts out the bells and whistles to deliver an affordable Windows 8 hybrid device.  More »

tablet-computers-review-lead

Tablet computers review

13 Jan 2014 | Tablets are taking over personal computing. We test more than 70 models you can buy in Australia.  More »

ONLINE_LaptopBuyingGuide_LEAD

Laptops buying guide

05 Dec 2013 | Our buying guide tells you everything you need to know about buying a laptop in easy-to-understand terms.  More »

Tech21

First look: Tech21 Impactology

26 Nov 2013 | This case and screen film combination claims to use "bulletproof" technology to protect your smartphone or tablet. We put it to the test.  More »

Online_Lead_Thin-Light_Laptops

Thin and light laptops review

06 Nov 2013 | We test 12 thin and light laptops to see which offer the best combination of speed, portability and battery life.   More »

ONLINE_HybridLaptops_LEAD

Hybrid laptops review

11 Nov 2013 | Can a cross between a laptop and tablet really work? We put eight hybrids to the test.  More »

Pile-of-tablets_LEAD_WEB

Quick look: tablet computers

28 Aug 2013 | A quick introduction to tablet computers and their wide-reaching impact, from young to old.  More »

Join CHOICE Online

Discover the benefits of membership.
Just $7.98/month
*Billed quarterly as $23.95

Request a
CHOICE test

Help us choose what products and services to test next.

 
Learn more
 
 
 
Give the special gift of CHOICE

Sign up to our free
e-Newsletter

Receive FREE email updates of our latest tests, consumer news and CHOICE marketing promotions.