Computers and accessories

Independent and trusted reviews, tests and buying guides. Compare price and performance of computer parts and accessories, including gadgets, PC monitors, speakers and power supply.

Top 10 Popular Articles

Laptop with bamboo and leaf

Computer's energy costs

30 May 2008 | Studies show that many of us simply aren’t aware of just how much energy household electronics consume.   More »

desktop-buying-guide-lead

Desktop computer buying guide

07 May 2013 | Find the right desktop computer within your budget with our comprehensive guide.  More »

$name

Widescreen monitor reviews

21 Jun 2011 | We put 13 widescreen desktop monitors to the test, across three size categories – 21.5”, 23”-24” and 27” – to see how they compare.  More »

22 inch and 24 inch monitors

Budget computer monitor reviews

08 Mar 2010 | We tested 16 widescreen displays for performance and ease of use - eight models in the 22-inch class and eight in the 24-inch class.  More »

Monitors

Computer monitors buying guide

10 Mar 2005 | There are two types of monitor available for home desktops: LCD and CRT.  More »

Linux penguin logo with coloured balls

Linux: the CHOICE how-to guide.

31 Mar 2008 | Linux is a bit of a jack-of-all-trades, and traditionally the domain of hardcore computer geeks — but that’s changing.  More »

Subscribe to CHOICE Computer

CHOICE Computer Magazine

| Learn about CHOICE Computer, the only technology magazine designed for beginner and intermediate computer users.  More »

Computer ergonomic devices

Ergonomic computer devices review and compare

04 Sep 2009 | Specially designed ergonomic devices can be of help to people suffering overuse injuries. CHOICE invited a group of everyday users to see if they could adjust to some of these devices.  More »

Chumby

Chumby review

12 Mar 2009 | It’s small and squeezable, and Chumby is a versatile gadget designed to deliver a constant stream of personalised information updates on any topic.  More »

Green recycle key on a keyboard

Recycle old computers

01 May 2013 | We look at the environmental impacts of improperly disposing of old electronic equipment, how you can make "greener" purchasing decisions and where you can take your devices to be recycled or refurbished.  More »

Top 10 Recent Articles

Password managers mean less sticky notes on your screen

Password managers review

31 Mar 2014 | Password managers tested and compared on both desktop and mobile computers.  More »

CHOICE tester Tamas checks out the Oculus Rift

Facebook buys into virtual reality for $2bn

26 Mar 2014 | The Oculus Rift virtual reality kit is already shaping up to be the defining VR headset for PC users. And Facebook wants a piece of the action.  More »

ONLINE_FL_LEAD_RaspberryPi

Review: we slice into the Raspberry Pi

28 Aug 2013 | The open-source, pocket-sized Raspberry Pi looks like a dream come true for consumers that want to learn about Linux programming - but can it live up to its claims?  More »

ONLINE_Lead_SwitchingToLinux

Switching to Linux

18 Sep 2013 | Everything you need to know about getting started with Linux, picking a distributer and installing it on your computer.  More »

Windows 8

Updating to Windows 8

10 May 2013 | Find out what options are available to you if you're thinking about upgrading to Windows 8.  More »

Green recycle key on a keyboard

Recycle old computers

01 May 2013 | We look at the environmental impacts of improperly disposing of old electronic equipment, how you can make "greener" purchasing decisions and where you can take your devices to be recycled or refurbished.  More »

desktop-buying-guide-lead

Desktop computer buying guide

07 May 2013 | Find the right desktop computer within your budget with our comprehensive guide.  More »

Desktop search tools

Desktop search tools

22 Apr 2013 | Desktop search tools offer faster search speeds, content searches, and time-saving features not found in the default Windows tools. We put six to the test.  More »

Technology-Reliability-LEAD

Technology reliability survey

13 Nov 2012 | The CHOICE technology reliability survey reports on what types of problems can go wrong with common computer devices.  More »

parrot-drone-lead

Parrot AR.Drone first look

11 Sep 2012 | This remote control flying device has an in-built high definition camera, and is controlled via an app on your smartphone or tablet.  More »

Join CHOICE Online

Discover the benefits of membership.
Just $7.98/month
*Billed quarterly as $23.95

Request a
CHOICE test

Help us choose what products and services to test next.

 
Learn more
 
 
 
Give the special gift of CHOICE

Sign up to our free
e-Newsletter

Receive FREE email updates of our latest tests, consumer news and CHOICE marketing promotions.