Saving Money

Independent and trusted reviews and comparisons of savings accounts and financial software and guides to budgeting and saving money.

Note book

Term deposits a bad deal

The top one-year term deposits pay less than the best online savings accounts – so is there still a good reason to lock away your money?

23 Oct 2014 | CHOICE reveals term deposit traps and top term deposit rates for six months, one year and three years.

Road sign and blue sky - sky high interest rates

Top online savings accounts

Who will provide the most bang for your buck when it comes to savings?

29 Sep 2014 | Don't leave your hard-earned money in zero interest paying transaction accounts, use a high interest account instead.

Bank Accounts

Top fee-free bank accounts

Transaction fees are disappearing fast: there are now a range of fee-free accounts for everyone.

23 Sep 2014 | Save on fees by choosing an account with no monthly fee and no fees for many ‘everyday’ transactions.

kids-bank-accounts-lead

Kids' saving accounts review

Kids' accounts are teaching kids some surprising lessons about banking

4 Jul 2014 | We review 26 savings accounts designed for children and teenagers, including products offered by ANZ, Commonwealth Bank, Bankwest and Westpac. We find good interest rates but also some bad conditions and fees.

ONLINE_MobileMoneyManagers_LEAD

Mobile money managers

Monitor your money with your smartphone.

22 Jan 2014 | We've checked out 10 financial apps that let you keep track of your spending or budget on the go.

BPAY View mobile bill payment

Direct debit versus BPAY View

Manage your bills online.

8 Oct 2013 | With BPAY and direct debit, there are now more convenient options than ever for paying your bills - but which one's the best for your wallet?

term-deposit-rolling-lead

Term Deposit Rolling

When it comes to term deposits, financial institutions aren’t showing much reward for your loyalty to them.

15 Jul 2013 | Over the past few years, bonus rates on online savings accounts have been as good or better than the highest rates on term deposit accounts. New regulations will see the pendulum swing back towards term deposits.

Banking code

Banking code exposed

A CHOICE shadow shop found that adherence to the revised Banking Code is spotty at best.

31 May 2013 | A revised banking code is one thing. Compliance is another.

BankingSatSurvey_LEAD

Bank Satisfaction Survey 2011

This year's survey shows the big four banks have not lifted their game since our 2010 report.

2 Dec 2011 | Most participants in our survey have long-term relationships with one of the big four banks, but the loyalty has yielded very little satisfaction.

man juggling suitcases

Personal financial software

We look at some of the way you can use personal financial software to manage your home budget.

19 Aug 2011 | Everyone has money concerns, but can personal financial packages help track expenses and manage your budget? We look at some of the online alternatives.

Anti Rip-Off Insurance

Make sure you're getting the best deal
CHOICE Online membership $22.95 a quarter

Join CHOICE Online

Discover the benefits of membership.
Just $7.98/month
*Billed quarterly as $23.95

 
 

Polls

 
 

Have you switched banks to get a better deal?

  
32%
 
No
  
26%
 
No, but I plan to
  
40%
 
Yes
  • 1034 votes

Sign up to our free
e-Newsletter

Receive FREE email updates of our latest tests, consumer news and CHOICE marketing promotions.