Heaters

Independent and trusted reviews, tests and investigations of electric heaters, gas heaters and other heating options for your home.

dehumidifiers-review-lead

Dehumidifier reviews

Wet weather dampening your home (and your spirits)? A dehumidifier could help.

12 Jul 2013 | We review 15 dehumidifiers, including a dessicant model, rated from 10L to 30L per day and priced from $188 to $880.

heater-web

Home heating guide

Follow our tips to keep warm and save yourself money this winter.

31 May 2013 | Winter is here, so it's time to consider your heating options. Here are our tips to reduce your energy use and your bills.

Electric Heater Reviews

Electric heater reviews

We review 29 electric heaters, priced from $39 to $595, including convection, radiant-and-convection and fan models.

17 May 2013 | A portable electric heater can kill the chill. Check our test results for newly tested models from DeLonghi, Omega, Sunbeam and others.

Baby sleeping

Heating options for your home buying guide

How to keep your home warm this winter. Get unbiased advice and reviews on heaters and heating options.

9 Jul 2012 | Did you freeze last winter? Were you in shock after reading the energy bill? Then it may be time to change the way you heat your home.

Gas heater

Unflued gas heater reviews

Warm up large spaces quickly and efficiently.

30 May 2012 | Unflued gas heaters deliver quick, energy-efficient and comparatively cheap warmth to individual rooms in your home.

ice-solair_9MAY_LEAD_WEB

ICE Solair first look

This solar air conditioner sounds good in theory, but isn't so good in practice.

9 May 2012 | This air conditioner has a thermal panel to reduce the compressor load and save electricity usage - but does it work?

Flued gas log fire

Flued-gas log fires

The cheapest of the five units tested cost more than $4000 installed, so it pays to buy wisely.

21 Apr 2010 | Flued-gas heating, where fumes are released or pushed outside, offers an efficient and effective option for a big area.

Home Insulation

Home Insulation Buying Guide

The government's home insulation bungle has demonstrated the importance of knowing what's what.

4 Feb 2010 | We run through the options for insulating your home.

Electric flame effect heater

Electric flame effect heaters review and compare

Enjoy the romantic look of a traditional wood or coal-burning fire without the mess.

5 May 2008 | The look is so integral to their overall purpose you can even put the flame effect on without generating any heat!

 

Newsletter sign-up

Get free updates on CHOICE's latest tests and reports.

The Consumer’s Champion

CHOICE advocacy
Over 50 years as the consumer voice

 
Learn more
 
 
 
Give the special gift of CHOICE

Sign up to our free
e-Newsletter

Receive FREE email updates of our latest tests, consumer news and CHOICE marketing promotions.