Video games

Independent and trusted tests, reviews and comparisons of the latest games consoles including Xbox One, PlayStation 4 and Wii U. 

console-updates-lead

Battle of the consoles: Xbox One, PS4 and Wii U

The eighth generation of consoles has promised a big boost for gamers. Is it time to jump on board?

25 Jun 2014 | The PlayStation 4 and Xbox One have been on shelves for just over six months, while the Wii U has been around for 18. Here’s how each console compares.

Choice staff playing a board game

Board games in the modern age

Tabletop games are defying technology, and making a triumphant return to lounge rooms across the country.

3 Jun 2014 | Remember Snakes and ladders? How about Monopoly? These and other board games such as Settlers of Catan are enjoying a massive resurgence, as video-game fans and new players are turning towards the tabletop. We find out why.

fl-wii-u

Nintendo Wii U review

Are the unique points of the Wii U enough to make it a serious contender against the PlayStation 4 and Xbox One?

12 May 2014 | The Nintendo Wii has sold more than 100 million units since its launch six years ago. We spent some time with its successor, the Wii U, to find out if Nintendo will rock the gaming world again.

PS4Lead

PlayStation 4 review

We get to grips with Sony’s new console and find several improvements.

30 Jan 2014 | The PlayStation 4 is the last of the eighth-generation consoles to hit the shelves. How does it stack up against the competition?

CHOICE journalist Peter Zaluzny trying out the Xbox One

Review: Xbox One

The Xbox One is the latest entry to the eighth generation of consoles. Does it deserve a place in your home entertainment setup?

27 Nov 2013 | We lined up at midnight on launch day to get our hands on the Xbox One, the first major overhaul of the Xbox in eight years. Here's what we found.

ONLINE_GameConsoles_Lead

Consoles: good for more than video games

The next generation of consoles could replace your DVD, Blu-ray player or media hub.

20 Nov 2013 | The next generation of consoles could replace your DVD, Blu-ray player or media hub.

Ouya

First look: Ouya

Console games go open source with this Android alternative

19 Nov 2013 | The next console to step into the ring against Sony, Microsoft and Nintendo - but costs far less than the big boys. Does it deserve a place in your living room?

games consoles

Keeping fit with consoles

Use the motion controller in the latest consoles to keep fit at home.

14 Apr 2011 | We asked 17 people to try out a selection of fitness, party games and multi-player titles on three consoles.

consoles

Game console reviews

We put the top three console entertainment systems to the test: the PS3, Xbox 360 and Wii.

15 Nov 2010 | The new battle for the hearts, minds and wallets of Australia’s electronic game playing population has hit fever pitch.

SONY PlayTV

Sony PlayTV First Look

This add-on device for PlayStation3 owners has its limitations.

3 Dec 2009 | The Sony PlayTV struggles to provide an effective two-in-one games console and personal video recorder machine.

Request a
CHOICE test

Help us choose what products and services to test next.

Join CHOICE Online

Discover the benefits of membership.
Just $7.98/month
*Billed quarterly as $23.95

 
Learn more
 
 

Polls

 
 

What apps do you use on your new Smart TV?

  
7%
 
BigPond Movies
  
1%
 
Facebook
  
19%
 
iView
  
2%
 
Quickflix
  
0%
 
Twitter
  
3%
 
Web browser
  
12%
 
YouTube
  
3%
 
Other
  
12%
 
I find the apps too difficult to use
  
37%
 
What's a SmartTV?
  • 1074 votes

Sign up to our free
e-Newsletter

Receive FREE email updates of our latest tests, consumer news and CHOICE marketing promotions.