Home theatre systems

Independent and trusted reviews, tests and buying guides. Compare price and performance of home theatre systems.

AV_receiver_Lead_APR22012_WEB

Surround sound AV receiver reviews

A Surround sound AV receiver is your home theatre system's command centre.

27 Nov 2013 | We test 16 surround sound AV receivers, to find out which models have the best sound quality, and are the easiest to use.

ONLINE_Lead_HomeTheatreSystems

Home theatre system reviews

Home theatre marketing claims don't always live up to the reality.

12 Sep 2013 | We test the latest all-in-one home theatre systems, priced from $699 to $1499.

ONLINE_Lead_HomeTheatreSystems

Quick look: home theatre

What are your surround sound options?

10 Sep 2013 | CHOICE provides a realistic look at home theatre in a box.

ONLINE_Lead_Soundbars

Soundbar reviews

We've tested seventeen soundbars that help improve your TV's sound.

30 Jul 2013 | All the soundbars on test deliver better sound than you’ll get from your TV, but some demand a lot more money than others for the privilege.

AV receiver

Audiovisual receivers buying guide

AV receivers sell the idea of turning your living room into a cinema. How much should you spend?

5 Apr 2012 | When you buy a home theatre in a box the AV receiver and DVD player are often combined. However, there's good reasons to buy separate components.

CH1011_HomeThSpeakers_lead029

Home theatre speakers reviews

If you can part with $2000 or more, you can get an exciting listening experience.

7 Sep 2011 | CHOICE reviews home theatre speakers valued from $2000 to $3000.

CH0911_Stereos_lead_

Mini stereo system reviews

When you want better sound, it's time get out of the bargain basement

17 Aug 2011 | CHOICE put a range of CD, DVD and Blu-ray stereo systems through their paces, ranging from $849 to $1900.

MiniHiFi_LEAD

Mini hifi with iPod dock reviews

Mini and midi hi-fi systems can deliver good sound for your iPod without breaking the bank.

17 Mar 2011 | Some of these mini and midi hi-fi systems punch well above their weight when it comes to sound quality.

wtlf_surround_sound-lead2

Set up your home theatre

Cut through the sales talk. Watch part 2 of our video series on the basics of home theatre.

25 Aug 2010 | Our expert reveals more of the mistakes that are made setting up home theatre systems.

iStock_home-theatre

Setting up a home theatre

Don't get duped by the sales hype. See part one of our video series on the basics of home theatre.

6 Aug 2010 | Our expert talks you through some of the more common mistakes you could make when setting up your home theatre.

Join CHOICE Online

Discover the benefits of membership.
Just $7.98/month
*Billed quarterly as $23.95

Request a
CHOICE test

Help us choose what products and services to test next.

 
Learn more
 

Sign up to our free
e-Newsletter

Receive FREE email updates of our latest tests, consumer news and CHOICE marketing promotions.