Groceries

Independent and trusted reviews, tests and investigations of everyday food and drink products, including snacks, breakfast cereals, low-fat desserts, and wine.

xmas-puddings-lead

Christmas pudding reviews

When it comes to Christmas puds, it pays not to be a scrooge.

3 Dec 2012 | We've blind taste tested 14 Christmas puddings to find out which ones are worthy of being the grand finale to your celebratory feast.

Breakfast cereal

Breakfast cereal reviews

Which cereals make the nutritional grade?

4 Oct 2012 | We look beyond the names and claims to uncover the breakfast cereals that provide the most nutritious start to your day.

Cake_lead_choice_WEB

Cake mix reviews

Cake mixes are convenient, but making a cake from scratch can be just as easy.

9 May 2012 | We taste-tested 19 chocolate and eight vanilla cake mixes, including varieties from White Wings, Betty Crocker and Coles.

image of fish fingers piled up in a bowl

Frozen fish product reviews

We trawl the supermarket freezers to find your best frozen fish options.

21 Mar 2012 | We review over 100 frozen fish products, including uncoated, seasoned, battered and crumbed varieties to uncover your best options.

salad-dressing_Lead

Salad dressing reviews

If you have the basics, making your own salad dressing can be quick and easy.

1 Feb 2012 | CHOICE reviews prepared French, Italian and Caesar salad dressings for nutrition and taste.

low fat dessert LEAD image

Low-fat dessert reviews

Read nutrition labels carefully - a 'low-fat' claim doesn't mean it's healthy.

6 Oct 2011 | CHOICE reviews a range of desserts marketed with low-fat labelling from the fridge and freezer section of supermarkets.

Bowl of muesli

Muesli reviews

We reviewed 159 mueslis to find the best ones for you, whatever your preferences.

17 Aug 2011 | CHOICE reviews 159 mueslis from supermarkets and health food stores to find those that meet our criteria for lowest fat, lowest sugar, highest fibre and more.

Savoury-snacks-potato-chips

Savoury snacks

Beware savoury snacks full of salt and saturated fat.

13 May 2011 | CHOICE looks at which savoury snacks are the healthier options as well as those best avoided.

meat substitutes

Meat substitutes

We found many vegetarian meat substitutes are alarmingly high in salt - and taste bland.

11 Apr 2011 | CHOICE put a handful of vegetarian meat substitutes to the test, rating both nutritional value and taste.

hot-cross-buns-choice

Hot cross buns

One a penny, two a penny… we test a range of hot cross buns to find out which brand comes out on top.

6 Apr 2011 | Our tasters gave us their verdict on fruit, fruit-free and choc chip varieties.

Newsletter sign-up

Get free updates on CHOICE's latest tests and reports.

The Consumer’s Champion

CHOICE advocacy
Over 50 years as the consumer voice

 
Learn more
 
 

Polls

 
 

If you're a member of a supermarket loyalty program, have you noticed any significant savings?

  
69%
 
No
  
14%
 
Not sure
  
16%
 
Yes
  • 627 votes

Sign up to our free
e-Newsletter

Receive FREE email updates of our latest tests, consumer news and CHOICE marketing promotions.