Groceries

Independent and trusted reviews, tests and investigations of everyday food and drink products, including snacks, breakfast cereals, low-fat desserts, and wine.

sausage-lead

What's in a sausage?

It’s hard to tell exactly what's in a sausage; you might get more – or less – than you bargained for

19 Jul 2013 | It's hard to tell exactly what's in a sausage, and sometimes you'll get more - or less - than you bargained for.

breakfast-drinks-lead

Liquid breakfasts

The number of on-the-go breakfast drinks is growing, but is convenience trumping nutrition?

24 Jun 2013 | Tapping into consumers’ increasing demand for meals on the go, liquid breakfasts are a growing category in the shopping aisles. These drinks quick and convenient, but we look at whether their health claims stack up.

bread-lead

Supermarket and bakery bread review

Modern bread processing methods have completely changed the way our daily loaf is made.

4 Jun 2013 | Bread has changed thanks to modern processing methods and additives. We investigate what's in supermarket and bakery breads and help you choose a healthy crust.

natural-sweetners-lead

Stevia 'natural' sugar substitute

Will low-kilojoule sweetener stevia revolutionise the way we flavour our food?

26 Mar 2013 | Stevia is hailed as a zero-kilojoule natural sweetener that will help reduce the amount of sugar we consume. But just how natural is it?

Beef production

What's your beef

... and where did it come from? How much do you know about your steak's journey from paddock to plate?

7 Feb 2013 | From direct sales between farmer and butcher, to a complex chain of agents, finishers, processors and wholesales, the path from paddock to plate can vary widely.

xmas-puddings-lead

Christmas pudding reviews

When it comes to Christmas puds, it pays not to be a scrooge.

3 Dec 2012 | We've blind taste tested 14 Christmas puddings to find out which ones are worthy of being the grand finale to your celebratory feast.

Breakfast cereal

Breakfast cereal reviews

Which cereals make the nutritional grade?

4 Oct 2012 | We look beyond the names and claims to uncover the breakfast cereals that provide the most nutritious start to your day.

Cake_lead_choice_WEB

Cake mix reviews

Cake mixes are convenient, but making a cake from scratch can be just as easy.

9 May 2012 | We taste-tested 19 chocolate and eight vanilla cake mixes, including varieties from White Wings, Betty Crocker and Coles.

image of fish fingers piled up in a bowl

Frozen fish product reviews

We trawl the supermarket freezers to find your best frozen fish options.

21 Mar 2012 | We review over 100 frozen fish products, including uncoated, seasoned, battered and crumbed varieties to uncover your best options.

salad-dressing_Lead

Salad dressing reviews

If you have the basics, making your own salad dressing can be quick and easy.

1 Feb 2012 | CHOICE reviews prepared French, Italian and Caesar salad dressings for nutrition and taste.

Newsletter sign-up

Get free updates on CHOICE's latest tests and reports.

The Consumer’s Champion

CHOICE advocacy
Over 50 years as the consumer voice

 
Learn more
 
 

Polls

 
 

If you're a member of a supermarket loyalty program, have you noticed any significant savings?

  
67%
 
No
  
15%
 
Not sure
  
17%
 
Yes
  • 691 votes

Sign up to our free
e-Newsletter

Receive FREE email updates of our latest tests, consumer news and CHOICE marketing promotions.