Food and drink

Independent and trusted tests, user trials and investigations of food, beverages, organic produce and supermarkets.

Top 10 Popular Articles

Coffee hit

Ground coffee reviews

05 Dec 2009 | CHOICE asked three experts to rate 14 popular brands of ground coffee to find out which offer the best value. We uncover pointers for picking a winner.   More »

Running water

Water filters: do you need one?

19 Oct 2008 | Filtering the water at the tap is one way of removing the taste of additives. CHOICE looks at the pros and cons of purchasing a water filter.   More »

Breakfast cereal

Breakfast cereal reviews

04 Oct 2012 | We look beyond the names and claims to uncover the breakfast cereals that provide the most nutritious start to your day.  More »

Glasses of milk

Milk products review

10 Sep 2009 | CHOICE has skimmed off the marketing hype and found that generic brands of milk are much the same as the equivalent big national brands.   More »

plates of food

Food additives you should avoid

02 May 2008 | We look at the latest research into additives that health questions have been raised about - and give CHOICE’s verdict on which ones you’d do best to avoid.  More »

bag of groceries

Supermarket price survey 2009

26 Nov 2009 | Two years on from our last survey, CHOICE hit the supermarket aisles with a shopping list of staples. We found grocery prices have risen against a background of little competition.  More »

plastics-lead-with-border

Plastics and food

07 Jan 2010 | There’s a growing body of scientific evidence that suggests some plastics are not as safe as we're led to believe.  More »

sparkling_lead

Sparkling wine and champagne reviews

19 Dec 2012 | CHOICE's wine experts tested 60 of the best-selling sparkling wines, including champagne. Some of the best buys cost under $10.  More »

Stocks

Stock reviews

08 Oct 2009 | CHOICE looks at 25 stocks – liquid, cubes and powders – and highlights the ones that are most like homemade, the ones with the least salt and the ones we believe represent the best value.   More »

Bowl of muesli

Muesli reviews

17 Aug 2011 | CHOICE reviews 159 mueslis from supermarkets and health food stores to find those that meet our criteria for lowest fat, lowest sugar, highest fibre and more.  More »

Top 10 Recent Articles

wine-medals

Wine awards

18 Aug 2014 | Is a medal on the label a genuine indicator of a good quality wine, or merely a marketing ploy? We take a look at wine show awards to determine their value in choosing a bottle.  More »

Fermented foods in jars

Fermented foods

09 Jul 2014 | From yoghurt and sauerkraut to kefir and kombucha, CHOICE reviews different types of fermented foods to find whether they live up to claimed health benefits.  More »

a bowl of chia seeds

Chia seeds: superfood or fad?

24 Jul 2014 | Once the domain of health food stores, chia has gone mainstream. We check out this seed’s superfood credentials.  More »

breakfast on the go business woman eating apple on the run

Breakfast on-the-go products

24 Jun 2014 | The right breakfast can mean the difference between a good start to a day or a sluggish one – but finding a quick and simple option among the breakfast biscuits and other breakfast-on-the-go products can be tricky.   More »

What are the real facts about gluten free?

Is gluten-free food healthy?

22 Apr 2014 | For many people gluten-free is a lifestyle choice to "feel better" or lose weight, but many of gluten-free foods are low in nutrition and high in kilojoules, fat and sugar.  More »

Woman training at gym

Protein supplements

28 Apr 2014 | Protein supplements (mainly in the form of drink powders and bars) are marketed for weight loss, muscle mass building and post-exercise recovery, targeting dieters, elderly people and athletes. They may be helpful sometimes, but whether they're necessary is debatable.   More »

Anzac biscuits

ANZAC biscuits review

24 Apr 2014 | Choice tests five brands of ANZAC biscuits, including Unibic, Coles and Woolworths, with an expert review and a lay panel taste test.  More »

Glasses of yoghurt

How to choose a healthy yoghurt

06 May 2014 | Yoghurts are marketed as healthy, but CHOICE has found some varieties have more sugar than a regular ice cream. Find out how to pick the healthiest yoghurts from the nutrition traps.   More »

Hot cross buns reviews

Hot cross buns on test

14 Apr 2014 | Using an expert judge and some enthusiastic taste testers, CHOICE put nine varieties of traditional fruit hot cross buns to the test.  More »

Which craft beers are home brewed

Who owns your beer?

26 Jan 2014 | Large breweries and industry companies using a cottage industry image to take over the craft beer market in Australia.  More »

Newsletter sign-up

Get free updates on CHOICE's latest tests and reports.

The Consumer’s Champion

CHOICE advocacy
Over 50 years as the consumer voice

 
Learn more
 
 

Polls

 
 

If you're a member of a supermarket loyalty program, have you noticed any significant savings?

  
67%
 
No
  
15%
 
Not sure
  
17%
 
Yes
  • 677 votes

Video gallery

 
 

Sign up to our free
e-Newsletter

Receive FREE email updates of our latest tests, consumer news and CHOICE marketing promotions.