Car tyres

Independent and trusted reviews, tests and comparisons of car tyres.

Tyres for small cars

Car tyres 175/65R15 reviews

We test 18 brands of 175/65R15 tyres, suitable for small cars such as the Honda Jazz, Toyota Yaris and Suzuki Swift.

29 Nov 2013 | Our new rolling resistance test evaluates “eco” claims made by some manufacturers.

215 tyres

Car tyres 205/60R16 reviews

We've tested 15 brands of car tyres, including models from Bridgestone, Dunlop, Continental and Michelin.

24 May 2013 | Find out which brands score best for braking and cornering performance in wet and dry conditions.

CH1212_Tyres_ONLINE_LEAD_4WD_dirttest

Small SUV tyre reviews

Performance on sealed roads is what sets these SUV tyres apart.

15 Nov 2012 | We review 225 60R17 car tyres, which are suitable for many small SUVs on the Australian market.

215 tyres

Car tyre 215/60R16 reviews

You can’t rely on price, tread pattern or brand name to find the best-performing tyre.

10 May 2012 | We review 18 brands of car tyres (215/60R16) priced from $105 to $229 each.

tyres 175

Car tyres 175/65R14 review

Maintaining the right tyre pressure helps keep your car on the road and money in your pocket.

19 May 2011 | If you’re shopping for tyres, you don’t have to get the same ones your car left the factory with. We tested 18 size 175/65R14 tyres, costing $75 to $127.

$name

Tyre pressure gauge reviews

Properly inflated tyres are safer, last longer and save you fuel.

19 May 2011 | Gauges at petrol stations are not always well maintained which may affect accuracy. You may want to think about getting your own. We tested 18 models, from $5 to $80.

Tyrecheckers LED Alert caps

Tyrecheckers LED Alert caps review

A novel way to alert you when it’s time to top up your tyres.

29 Oct 2010 | These LED Alert caps for car tyres are a step towards safer and more economical motoring.

Car tyres

Car tyres 195/65R15 review and compare

Safety is paramount when purchasing a new set of tyres.

31 May 2010 | This size is currently used on a number of popular small cars such as the Ford Focus, Honda Civic, Kia Cerato, Mazda 3, Toyota Corolla and the Volkswagen Golf.

Tyres

Car tyres 205/65 R15 review and compare

We tested tyres for a range of family cars, for cornering, braking and noise.

6 Apr 2008 | For almost two weeks, our tyre testing team put their bodies on the line for you during high-speed cornering and emergency braking tests — and about 500 tyre changes

Checking tyre pressure

Tyre pressure checkers quick review

A simple device can help you keep your tyre pressure in check.

22 Feb 2008 | If you’re one of the majority who find it a bit of a chore to check your tyre pressure on a regular basis, why not invest in a set of tyre pressure indicators that do the monitoring for you?

 

Join CHOICE Online

Discover the benefits of membership.
Just $7.98/month
*Billed quarterly as $23.95

Anti Rip-Off Insurance

Make sure you're getting the best deal
CHOICE Online membership $22.95 a quarter

 
Learn more
 

Sign up to our free
e-Newsletter

Receive FREE email updates of our latest tests, consumer news and CHOICE marketing promotions.