Shopping

Independent and trusted investigations and guides to your rights when shopping in retail stores and online.

food-sharing-lead

Consumer sharing

Swap, share and rent your way to a better future.

23 Apr 2013 | Consumer sharing is growing in popularity to meet today’s buyer demands. It’s energy efficient, environmentally friendly and cost effective, and it’s now easier than ever.

Loyalty cards

Shopping loyalty cards

Supermarket loyalty programs offer very little value but are used to collect enormous amounts of your personal data.

11 Apr 2013 | CHOICE found that most loyalty programs offer such poor rewards you generally save less than a dollar per $100 spent.

Who owns my brand?

Who owns my brands?

Are big companies giving us the illusion of choice, when in reality it’s just more of the same?

9 Apr 2013 | Find out which multinationals own the brands sitting on the shelves of your local supermarket.

celebrity-endorsements-lead

Celebrity endorsements

Do famous folk really stand by the products they endorse, or is it simply a case of cash for comment?

13 Mar 2013 | Celebrities have been spruiking products for years. We look at the persuasive power of these endorsements, and whether they're all just hot air.

Choosing a charity

Cause for concern?

Gimmicky gifts from charities meant to increase donations are having the opposite effect.

8 Mar 2013 | The fundraising industry says personalised pens, pad, and address labels are an effective marketing ploy for inspiring generosity, but potential donors tell a different story.

Outsourcing household tasks

Outsourcing household chores

Too many tasks and not enough time? The answer could be domestic outsourcing.

4 Mar 2013 | We check out how you can outsource various household chores, such as cleaning, dogwalking and general home maintenance, to ease the squeeze on your work-life balance.

storage-lead

Your guide to self-storage

Whether you're moving, downsizing or just need a place to put some boxes, we've looked at how to find a storage facility that's right for you.

26 Feb 2013 | With a trend towards high-density living, more Australians are turning to self-storage as a short- or long-term solution for lack of space.

Wrap rage

Wrap rage

What happens when the packaging surrounding a product protects it so well you can’t actually get at it?

18 Feb 2013 | Some types of packaging are impossible to open for certain consumers and may even inflict injury. We've uncovered the main offenders.

CHOICE reviews pricing tricks

Pricing tricks

CHOICE tells you how to spot the everyday pricing tricks you face as a consumer.

1 Feb 2013 | Whether you’re doing the grocery shopping or looking a mobile phone deal, get the best value for money every time avoiding top pricing tricks.

Review sites

Review websites

Is it a genuine review or advertising in disguise?

23 Jan 2013 | While consumers like to buy things that have been reviewed and recommended by others, we find you can't always trust the recommendations you find online.

Request a
CHOICE test

Help us choose what products and services to test next.

Join CHOICE Online

Discover the benefits of membership.
Just $7.98/month
*Billed quarterly as $23.95

 
Learn more
 
 

Polls

 
 

Have you used the following payment methods in the past 12 months?

  
15%
 
Interest-free
  
13%
 
Lay-by
  
11%
 
Lay-by and Interest-free
  
60%
 
None of these
  • 45 votes

Sign up to our free
e-Newsletter

Receive FREE email updates of our latest tests, consumer news and CHOICE marketing promotions.