Shopping

Independent and trusted investigations and guides to your rights when shopping in retail stores and online.

Review sites

Review websites

Is it a genuine review, or simply advertising in disguise?

1 Jan 2015 | Consumers like to buy things that have been reviewed and recommended by others, but CHOICE finds you can't always trust the recommendations you find online.

Do you know your returns, refunds and exchanges rights?

Christmas sales shopping rights

Brush up on your consumer know-how with our silly-season shopping rights refresher.

26 Dec 2014 | Do you know your rights under Australian Consumer Law? Being aware of the rules of refunds, exchanges and discounts can save you time and money this festive season.

man with gift card

The trouble with gift cards

They're a great last-minute Christmas present, but gift cards can also be a waste of money.

9 Dec 2014 | We look at some of the problems with gifts cards, and CHOICE members share which gift cards they'd like Santa to bring for Christmas.

x-mass-buying-guide-001

Your rights when shopping at Christmas

Don't get stuck with a lemon this Xmas - we can help you shop smart during the silly season.

28 Nov 2014 | Want to know where you stand when it comes to a gift that doesn't do what it says on the box? Wondering if that too-good-to-be-true offer is a Christmas scam? These tips and tricks could help you shop smart during the silly season.

person hands parcel to courier service

Best international postal service

What's the best postal service for sending parcels overseas?

10 Nov 2014 | We've reviewed five international postal services to send your Christmas parcels, and compared them for cost, ease of booking and delivery time.

price-matching-lead

Lowest price and price-match guarantees

A “lowest price guarantee” isn't necessarily good for your bottom line.

24 Sep 2014 | In many cases, a lowest-price guarantee isn't actually guaranteeing the lowest price.

bride and groom dolls

The cost of weddings

Do higher quotes go hand in hand with couples planning to wed?

28 Aug 2014 | CHOICE investigates if couples planning a wedding get quoted higher prices than other consumers, for exactly the same thing.

unit pricing woman checking supermarket signs

Unit pricing rules not always followed

Consumers need to look closely to get the best deal.

14 Jul 2014 | Tricky packaging and labelling are a big part of how businesses sell products these days. Unit pricing is supposed to help you look past the marketing to compare prices and find the best value for money.

Free makeover

Discount diva: how to live it up for less

One CHOICE journalist makes her dollars go further.

2 Jul 2014 | Want to save money while still enjoying the finer things in life? CHOICE journalist Zoya Sheftalovich is a discount queen for a week.

CH0312_OnlineAuction_lead_WEB

Selling and trading your things online

Check out this CHOICE guide to selling, giving or swapping.

4 Jun 2014 | We've all got stuff we no longer want, need or use taking up space around the house. So how do you get the most of your useless junk?

Request a
CHOICE test

Help us choose what products and services to test next.

Join CHOICE Online

Discover the benefits of membership.
Just $7.98/month
*Billed quarterly as $23.95

 
Learn more
 
 

Polls

 
 

Have you used the following payment methods in the past 12 months?

  
17%
 
Interest-free
  
10%
 
Lay-by
  
8%
 
Lay-by and Interest-free
  
62%
 
None of these
  • 56 votes

Sign up to our free
e-Newsletter

Receive FREE email updates of our latest tests, consumer news and CHOICE marketing promotions.