Groceries

Independent and trusted reviews, tests and investigations of everyday food and drink products, including snacks, breakfast cereals, low-fat desserts, and wine.

best chocolate brands dark block

Best chocolate brands

Which are the best milk and dark chocolates on supermarket shelves? We put 24 of them to the all-important taste test.

14 Apr 2014 | Our latest chocolate taste test includes 11 milk and 13 dark chocolate brands. Find out if our experts taste testers agreed with the people's choice.

Hot cross buns reviews

Hot cross buns on test

Which hot cross buns should grace your table this Easter?

14 Apr 2014 | Using an expert judge and some enthusiastic taste testers, CHOICE put nine varieties of traditional fruit hot cross buns to the test.

Are organic fruits and vegetables free of pesticides?

Pesticide residue in fruit and vegetables

Does spending more on organic produce guarantee you'll avoid pesticide residues? We tested grapes from supermarkets, greengrocers and farmers' markets to find out.

25 Mar 2014 | Is it worth spending more on pesticide-free fruit and vegetables? We tested conventional and organic grapes to find out.

pizza slice

Best and worst frozen pizzas

Is a gourmet image on a frozen pizza box an indicator of better taste?

21 Jan 2014 | CHOICE reviews 50 frozen pizzas and finds that an enticing gourmet image is no guarantee of superior taste or a healthier meal.

Are you falling for free-range porkies?

Free range pork and turkey

The lack of a clear definition of free range makes it difficult for consumers to know exactly how Australian free-range meat is farmed

6 Dec 2013 | Producers and retailers are free to make their own decisions about free-range labelling, making it hard for consumers to know just how "free range" their ham, pork, bacon and turkey really is.

sausage-lead

What's in a sausage?

It’s hard to tell exactly what's in a sausage; you might get more – or less – than you bargained for

19 Jul 2013 | It's hard to tell exactly what's in a sausage, and sometimes you'll get more - or less - than you bargained for.

breakfast-drinks-lead

Liquid breakfasts

The number of on-the-go breakfast drinks is growing, but is convenience trumping nutrition?

24 Jun 2013 | Tapping into consumers’ increasing demand for meals on the go, liquid breakfasts are a growing category in the shopping aisles. These drinks quick and convenient, but we look at whether their health claims stack up.

bread-lead

Supermarket and bakery bread review

Modern bread processing methods have completely changed the way our daily loaf is made.

4 Jun 2013 | Bread has changed thanks to modern processing methods and additives. We investigate what's in supermarket and bakery breads and help you choose a healthy crust.

natural-sweetners-lead

Stevia 'natural' sugar substitute

Will low-kilojoule sweetener stevia revolutionise the way we flavour our food?

26 Mar 2013 | Stevia is hailed as a zero-kilojoule natural sweetener that will help reduce the amount of sugar we consume. But just how natural is it?

Beef production

What's your beef

... and where did it come from? How much do you know about your steak's journey from paddock to plate?

7 Feb 2013 | From direct sales between farmer and butcher, to a complex chain of agents, finishers, processors and wholesales, the path from paddock to plate can vary widely.

Newsletter sign-up

Get free updates on CHOICE's latest tests and reports.

The Consumer’s Champion

CHOICE advocacy
Over 50 years as the consumer voice

 
Learn more
 
 

Polls

 
 

If you're a member of a supermarket loyalty program, have you noticed any significant savings?

  
69%
 
No
  
14%
 
Not sure
  
16%
 
Yes
  • 624 votes

Sign up to our free
e-Newsletter

Receive FREE email updates of our latest tests, consumer news and CHOICE marketing promotions.