Plasma, LED and LCD TVs

Independent and trusted reviews, tests and buying guides. Compare price and performance of plasma, LED and LCD TVs.

iStock_man-lying-down-watch

94cm LCD TVs review

A large-screen TV may look impressive, but it might not be ideal for your room.

15 Mar 2011 | The top peformers in this test deliver a quality picture - and prove that performance needn't come at a cost.

Tvs in a store

106cm TV reviews

Large screen HD plasma and LCD televisions on test. Review and compare models to find the best TV.

1 Feb 2011 | We take the guesswork out of buying the major television brands by putting them through their paces in our specialised laboratories.

sony_media_lead

Sony SMP-N100 first look

Hook this handy device up to your TV to enjoy video, audio and image files stored on your network.

4 Jan 2011 | The Sony SMP-N100 also provides access to over 20 internet TV channels under Sony’s BRAVIA Internet banner.

$name

USB TV tuner reviews

With a USB digital high-definition TV tuner and a laptop you can take your HDTV on the road.

19 Nov 2010 | We test 12 go-anywhere digital TV tuners for your PC.

Man watching television

CHOICE guide to digital TV

What will it mean for you?

8 Oct 2010 | Your normal analogue TV will go blank if you haven’t invested in a set-top-box or digital ready TV by 2013. So, what is digital TV and why have it?

TV

LCD vs plasma TV buying guide

Buy the best TV. Find information on picture and sound quality, screen type, size and ease of use.

27 Jul 2010 | Plasma or LCD TV? Buying a TV in the 21st century is no mean feat. CHOICE suggests some things to consider before you buy.

TIVO

EPG review

Electronic program guides (EPGs) are supposed to help Australians record their weekly TV fix, but how reliable are they?

2 May 2010 | CHOICE explains why electronic program guides fall short of the mark.

Panasonic 3D TV

Samsung 3D TV quick review

CHOICE brings the new Samsung 3D TV into the lab for a quick once over.

24 Feb 2010 | CHOICE gives its preliminary verdict on the new Samsung 3D TV, ahead of our full test of 3D models.

LEAD_FREEVIEW

Why would you want Freeview?

Freeview products deliver HD Digital TV, but so do many other non-Freeview branded products.

19 Oct 2009 | CHOICE looks at Freeview, what it's offering and what it means, as well as what you gain, or lose, when compared to an identical non-Freeview product.

lead_81cm_istock

Buying a new TV?

21 Sep 2009 | Choose from a variety of LCD and plasma digital TV tests.

Request a
CHOICE test

Help us choose what products and services to test next.

Join CHOICE Online

Discover the benefits of membership.
Just $7.98/month
*Billed quarterly as $23.95

 
Learn more
 
 

Polls

 
 

What apps do you use on your new Smart TV?

  
7%
 
BigPond Movies
  
1%
 
Facebook
  
19%
 
iView
  
2%
 
Quickflix
  
0%
 
Twitter
  
3%
 
Web browser
  
12%
 
YouTube
  
3%
 
Other
  
12%
 
I find the apps too difficult to use
  
37%
 
What's a SmartTV?
  • 1018 votes

Sign up to our free
e-Newsletter

Receive FREE email updates of our latest tests, consumer news and CHOICE marketing promotions.