Camping and hiking

Independent and trusted reviews and tests of camping and hiking products, including information about tents, eskies, handheld GPS units and travel tripods.

tent-reviews-lead

Family sized tent reviews

We test 10 family-sized tents ranging from $141 to $700, including models from Coleman, Kathmandu and Caribee.

11 Jul 2014 | A good tent can make or break a camping trip. We test 10 family-sized (four-person) tents.

ONLINE_Eskies_Lead

Esky reviews

Eskies, coolers or chilly bins - these picnic favourites are known by many names around Australia. We test nine of them.

6 Dec 2013 | Eskies, ice boxes, coolers or chilly bins - these camping favourites are known by many names around Australia. We put nine on test, finding how long it takes for the packed ice to melt.

Mozzie repellents

Mosquito repellents review

As Australians begin their mass annual migration to the country’s lakes and beaches, CHOICE finds out which mosquito repellents actually repel mozzies

6 Nov 2013 | We test 15 mozzie repellents to determine their effectiveness and whether or not they meet their claims. The recommended products provide the best protection against mozzie bites.

Small tents lead

Small tents review

We review 14 small tents, ranging in price from $110 to $500. Essential camping gear tested.

3 Sep 2013 | A light tent is essential camping gear if you're planning on hiking to a campsite. We test a range of lighter tents, including OzTrail, Macpac, Mountain Design and more.

Handheld GPS

Handheld GPS units buying guide

A handheld GPS makes it easier to find your way in the wilds of city or bush, but don't rely on it alone.

1 Jul 2010 | If you know the co-ordinates of a destination, anywhere in the world, a handheld GPS will show you how to get there on foot.

Eskies

Eskies review and compare

Summer wouldn’t be summer without an esky, but are they all equally cool?

1 Dec 2009 | If you’re out and about and need a place to store cold food and drinks, an esky is essential. Our results showed dramatic differences in the nine models tested.

Tripod

Travel tripods quick review

These travel tripods are small and light but not so stable.

1 Aug 2009 | There's nothing quite so disappointing as getting back your travel photos only to find they're all blurred.

Tents

Tents buying guide

Camping can be a fun and low expense, but keep in mind your comfort when purchasing your tent.

24 Apr 2009 | Whether you are looking for a solo tent, a two-person or a palatial tent for family and friends, make sure you take into account your needs first.

Handheld GPS

Handheld GPS reviews

Finding your way in the world can cost the earth with some of these handheld GPS.

6 Apr 2009 | An 'adventure' handheld GPS can reveal your position if you're lost, or record every step you take so you can find your way back.

Portable fridge

Portable fridge buying guide

You need to know your stuff when choosing a portable fridge.

20 Mar 2009 | There are three types of portable fridge to choose from with big differences between them.

 
Learn more
 

Sign up to our free
e-Newsletter

Receive FREE email updates of our latest tests, consumer news and CHOICE marketing promotions.