Shopping

Independent and trusted investigations and guides to your rights when shopping in retail stores and online.

Wrap rage

Wrap rage

What happens when the packaging surrounding a product protects it so well you can’t actually get at it?

18 Feb 2013 | Some types of packaging are impossible to open for certain consumers and may even inflict injury. We've uncovered the main offenders.

CHOICE reviews pricing tricks

Pricing tricks

CHOICE tells you how to spot the everyday pricing tricks you face as a consumer.

1 Feb 2013 | Whether you’re doing the grocery shopping or looking a mobile phone deal, get the best value for money every time avoiding top pricing tricks.

Review sites

Review websites

Is it a genuine review or advertising in disguise?

23 Jan 2013 | While consumers like to buy things that have been reviewed and recommended by others, we find you can't always trust the recommendations you find online.

quality-vs-price-lead-image

Quality vs price

When it comes to certain high-end products, are you paying a premium for quality or just brand?

27 Nov 2012 | We pit a low-, medium- and high-end moisturiser, hair dryer and pair of men's underpants against each other in a user trial, and speak to experts about the results.

lay-bys-lead

The pros and cons of lay-by

Lay-by can be a cheap and convenient way to budget but you should be aware of the pitfalls.

22 Oct 2012 | Lay-by can take the sting out of Christmas shopping, but the fine print can sometimes include tricky conditions such as expensive cancellation fees.

store-wars-lead

Customer service shadow shop

Our customer service shadow shop produces mixed results for major retailers.

26 Sep 2012 | How do Australia's bricks and mortar retailers stack up when it comes to customer service? We shadow shop Australia's 10 most popular retailers.

Aroma Marketing

The rise of aroma marketing

Is your nose falling prey to stealth advertising?

15 Aug 2012 | Scent marketing is increasingly being used to draw consumers back into bricks-and-mortars stores.

Parallel-import-toothpaste-elise_LEAD_JUN2012_WEB

Parallel imports

Products shipped in from abroad without the permission of the local trademark or intellectual property owner.

19 Jun 2012 | How can some products look, taste and function the same, yet vary so markedly in price from their mainstream, retail counterparts?

home_rental_lead_MAY2012_WEB

Rent payment schemes

Some rental agents outsource rent processing and have tenants pick up the tab.

7 Jun 2012 | Third-party rent payment schemes force tenants to pay for rent collection, and the fees can really add up.

shonky_removal_LEAD_MAY2012_WEB

Finding a removalist

Hiring a removalist you can trust can be a shot in the dark.

25 May 2012 | In 2011, Fair Trading NSW received 300 complaints about removalists – more than one every working day on average.

Request a
CHOICE test

Help us choose what products and services to test next.

Join CHOICE Online

Discover the benefits of membership.
Just $7.98/month
*Billed quarterly as $23.95

 
Learn more
 
 

Polls

 
 

Have you used the following payment methods in the past 12 months?

  
14%
 
Interest-free
  
12%
 
Lay-by
  
10%
 
Lay-by and Interest-free
  
61%
 
None of these
  • 47 votes

Sign up to our free
e-Newsletter

Receive FREE email updates of our latest tests, consumer news and CHOICE marketing promotions.