Laundry and cleaning

Independent and trusted reviews, tests and buying guides of laundry appliances and cleaning products for your home.

Top 10 Popular Articles

vacuum-low-cost_340wx232h_lead

Low-cost vacuum cleaner reviews

14 Jul 2011 | Our test reveals some good, affordable choices and one model in particular that would hold its own against vacuums costing twice as much.  More »

Laundry powder

Laundry detergent reviews

06 Feb 2013 | We've compared the top-selling laundry detergents for both top- and front loaders - 64 in all - to find which are the best at removing stains.  More »

laundry-detergent_340wx232h_lead

Laundry powders vs liquids review

15 Jul 2011 | We compare laundry detergent concentrates to find out which perform better, give the best value for money and are better for our environment.  More »

Washing machine buying guide

Washing machines buying guide

01 Jul 2012 | Use our quick buying guide to decide which type is right for you and what features you need.  More »

Microfibre cloth

Microfibre cloth reviews

11 Dec 2009 | Microfibre cloths minimise the need for chemical cleaners, so they're good for the environment and the hip pocket.  More »

Clothes dryer reviews

Clothes dryer reviews

27 Feb 2014 | We put the latest clothes dryers through rigorous tests in our labs. Find out which are the best performers.  More »

Man testing vacuum cleaners

Vacuum cleaners buying guide

06 Jul 2010 | You can’t go past a vacuum cleaner that is light, quiet, easy to manoeuvre, has a long cord and has a neat compact design for easy storage.   More »

Carpet being cleaned

Carpet cleaning options guide

10 Apr 2007 | While you're more likely to wait until your carpets are covered in muddy paw prints before hiring a carpet cleaner, having your carpets cleaned at least once a year should prolong their life.   More »

Man ironing

Iron reviews

05 Feb 2014 | Irons are a less expensive alternative to steam stations, and there are plenty to choose from at varying prices that will get the job done.   More »

Cockroach

Cockroach killers review

16 Oct 2013 | CHOICE tested three types of chemical control - knockdown sprays, surface sprays, and baits and traps - to find out which ones are the most effective.   More »

Top 10 Recent Articles

Robot Vacuum Cleaner

Robot vacuum cleaner reviews

17 Mar 2014 | Compare robotic vacuum cleaners from top brands including iRobot, LG, Samsung and Hoover to find the best one for you.  More »

Clothes dryer reviews

Clothes dryer reviews

27 Feb 2014 | We put the latest clothes dryers through rigorous tests in our labs. Find out which are the best performers.  More »

Vacuum cleaner reviews

Vacuum cleaner reviews

24 Feb 2014 | We reveal which newly tested vacuums - including models from Miele, Dyson, and Hoover - are best at picking up dirt and pet hair.  More »

Washing machine

Washing machine reviews

17 Feb 2014 | Find out which washers from all the major brands rate best for dirt removal, rinse performance and water and energy efficiency.  More »

Sabco RoboSweep first look

Sabco RoboSweep first look

12 Feb 2014 | If you’d love a robot vacuum that’ll clean up for you but don’t want to fork out the big bucks then you may want to consider the Sabco RoboSweep.   More »

Steam station reviews

Steam station reviews

05 Feb 2014 | Steam stations generate a lot of steam so you can effortlessly iron out the wrinkles in your clothes.   More »

Garment steamer in action

Garment steamer reviews

05 Feb 2014 | The latest garment steamers are put through their paces, including models from Conair, Kambrook, Jiffy and Homemaker.  More »

Man ironing

Iron reviews

05 Feb 2014 | Irons are a less expensive alternative to steam stations, and there are plenty to choose from at varying prices that will get the job done.   More »

The iRobot Scooba 390

First look: iRobot Scooba 390

14 Jan 2014 | CHOICE put the iRobot Scooba to work on a gritty, grimy floor to see how it performs.  More »

CHOICE tests steam mops

Steam mop reviews

16 Jan 2014 | Test results for 25 steam mops, including 12 newly tested models, priced from $49 to $349.   More »

Newsletter sign-up

Get free updates on CHOICE's latest tests and reports.

Join CHOICE Online

Discover the benefits of membership.
Just $7.98/month
*Billed quarterly as $23.95

 
Learn more
 
 
 
Give the special gift of CHOICE

Video gallery

 
 

Sign up to our free
e-Newsletter

Receive FREE email updates of our latest tests, consumer news and CHOICE marketing promotions.