Backyard

Independent and trusted tests, reviews and investigations of products designed for your backyard and your pets.

Top 10 Popular Articles

BBQ Reviews

BBQs review

26 Nov 2013 | CHOICE reviews portable, balcony-sized and large four-to-six burner barbecues, including latest models from Beefeater and Weber.  More »

Gas BBQ on a stand

Barbecues review 2007

02 Nov 2007 | We tell you what to look for in a barbecue, how to maintain them, how to cook the perfect steak — and we tell you which models are the best from our test of seven 4-burner gas barbecues with hoods.  More »

Small barbeques

Small barbecues review

11 Nov 2008 | When you're shopping for one, how can you tell which models will cook your food evenly? Will an electric BBQ perform as well as gas? Which will be the easiest to use?  More »

Hand cupping clean pool water

Pool maintenance guide

03 Mar 2008 | From collecting leaves to keeping the chlorine levels stable, there is a huge range of tricks, tools and products to keep your pool in tip top shape.  More »

mulcher lawn mowers

Mulcher lawnmower reviews

25 Sep 2012 | In our updated test of 30 mulcher and catcher lawnmowers, we reveal which models keep your lawn looking its best.   More »

Petrol and push lawn mower

Petrol and push lawn mower reviews

29 Sep 2008 | CHOICE tested both types of mowers for their performance and ease of use and checked the noise and safety of the petrol mowers as well.   More »

High pressure cleaner iStock

Pressure cleaner reviews

19 Feb 2014 | CHOICE reviews 30 pressure cleaners priced from $69 to $749 and finds that higher operating pressure really is the key to a good blaster.  More »

Cordless drill with nails and tape measure

Cordless drill reviews

02 Jun 2014 | A cordless drill is a must-have tool for the dedicated DIYer, but which ones can handle the tough jobs?  More »

Begging dog

Pet food buying guide

22 May 2007 | Very little independent research has been done in Australia about the long-term effects on the health of pets eating commercial pet food - the majority of research is done by manufacturers themselves.  More »

Pool cleaner

Pool cleaners review

20 Jul 2008 | We subjected seven cleaners to difficult test conditions using a variety of common pool debris to see how they would cope.  More »

Top 10 Recent Articles

Pool Fences

Pool fences review and compare

16 Sep 2014 | Whether you're a new pool owner or thinking about upgrading your old fencing, our test and checklists will help keep your family safe this summer.  More »

Cordless drill with nails and tape measure

Cordless drill reviews

02 Jun 2014 | A cordless drill is a must-have tool for the dedicated DIYer, but which ones can handle the tough jobs?  More »

High pressure cleaner iStock

Pressure cleaner reviews

19 Feb 2014 | CHOICE reviews 30 pressure cleaners priced from $69 to $749 and finds that higher operating pressure really is the key to a good blaster.  More »

Multi-function power tools

Multi-function tools home test

15 Jan 2014 | We recruited a serious DIY renovator, CHOICE member Sean Wain, to test four popular multi-function power tools for us.   More »

Jamie Oliver Big Boy

First look: Jamie Oliver Big Boy BBQ

14 Jan 2014 | CHOICE home economist Fiona Mair puts the Jamie Oliver Big Boy portable BBQ to the test.  More »

Vegetables

Grow your own vegetables

13 Jan 2014 | More and more people are growing their own fruit and vegetables and saving money on their grocery bills. CHOICE shows you how to set up your own veggie patch.  More »

BBQ Reviews

BBQs review

26 Nov 2013 | CHOICE reviews portable, balcony-sized and large four-to-six burner barbecues, including latest models from Beefeater and Weber.  More »

ONLINE_ChrstmasLights_LEAD_LitHome_SS_112403636

Home test: Christmas lights

14 Nov 2013 | CHOICE voting members Roland Feillafe and Michelle Tangey and their families try out four LED Christmas light sets for ease of set-up and value for money.  More »

The LotusGrill

First look: LotusGrill

01 Nov 2013 | CHOICE home economist, Fiona Mair, puts the small and portable LotusGrill BBQ to the test.  More »

Group

Ride-on mowers review

18 Nov 2013 | Eight ride-on mowers tested, plus a buying guide for researching which mower you need and what to look for.  More »

Newsletter sign-up

Get free updates on CHOICE's latest tests and reports.

Request a
CHOICE test

Help us choose what products and services to test next.

 
Learn more
 
 
 
Give the special gift of CHOICE

Video gallery

  • How we test BBQs

    bbq-video-poster-frameThe CHOICE team take a look at the newest range of BBQs to hit the market, and also give insight into some of the best features available.
     
  • How we test barbecues

    How we test barbecues We put our barbecues through a series of meaty challenges.
     
 
 

Sign up to our free
e-Newsletter

Receive FREE email updates of our latest tests, consumer news and CHOICE marketing promotions.