Groceries

Independent and trusted reviews, tests and investigations of everyday food and drink products, including snacks, breakfast cereals, low-fat desserts, and wine.

nuts_lead

Mixed nuts

Crack the secret of finding the healthiest nut mixes.

18 Nov 2010 | Not all nuts are equal when it comes to nutrition. CHOICE explains what makes them good for us.

Lead_cheese

Cheese reviews

How does a supermarket camembert stack up against one from your local deli?

5 Nov 2010 | CHOICE compares and reviews a range of bries, blues, camemberts and cheddars to find out which brands impress.

supermarket-lead

Battle of the brands

How do the supermarket brands compare with the market leaders for taste, nutrition and value for money?

7 Sep 2010 | CHOICE purchased a total of 163 supemarket products, across 30 different popular food items, and put them to the test.

Cooking oils

Choosing the right cooking oil

With such a range of cooking oils on supermarket shelves, which are better for what purpose?

9 Aug 2010 | Not all oils are equal. We tell you the right ones to use for the cooking purpose in mind.

Olive oil

Extra virgin olive oil reviews

Is what you buy the real deal?

22 Jun 2010 | There’s currently no mandatory standard for extra virgin olive oil sold in Australia. CHOICE testing of 28 brands found you can't always trust an oil labelled "extra virgin" is the real deal.

meat pies

The truth about meat pies

Very few meat pies are tasty or packed with meat, while the majority are a very unappetising prospect.

18 May 2010 | The Australian food standards authority stipulates meat pies must contain a minimum of 25% "meat flesh". But not all do.

Bread-iStock-lead

Multigrain bread reviews

Multigrain breads can be top scorers for taste and texture, and rate well nutritionally.

6 May 2010 | We size up the main varieties you'll find at your supermarket.

Pizzas test

Pizza reviews

We reveal which brands and chains offer the healthiest and tastiest options.

15 Mar 2010 | CHOICE compared more than 190 brands and flavours of pizza available nationally from supermarkets (chilled or frozen) or from takeaway chains. We found some big differences in nutritional value – and in value for money.

Grocery shopping online

Grocery shopping online

A CHOICE survey confirms Australians have largely rejected online grocery shopping. We look at the pros and cons.

4 Mar 2010 | The online market is dominated by Coles and Woolworths. We review their offering and highlight some of the smaller players.

Ready meals

Supermarket ready meals

From shelf to microwave, they're ready in minutes. But are these packaged meals any good?

3 Feb 2010 | Supermarket shelves are crammed with shelf-stable meals, costing between $3 and $5. We sort the best from the rest.

Newsletter sign-up

Get free updates on CHOICE's latest tests and reports.

The Consumer’s Champion

CHOICE advocacy
Over 50 years as the consumer voice

 
Learn more
 
 

Polls

 
 

If you're a member of a supermarket loyalty program, have you noticed any significant savings?

  
67%
 
No
  
15%
 
Not sure
  
17%
 
Yes
  • 674 votes

Sign up to our free
e-Newsletter

Receive FREE email updates of our latest tests, consumer news and CHOICE marketing promotions.