Groceries

Independent and trusted reviews, tests and investigations of everyday food and drink products, including snacks, breakfast cereals, low-fat desserts, and wine.

Olive oil

Extra virgin olive oil reviews

Is what you buy the real deal?

22 Jun 2010 | There’s currently no mandatory standard for extra virgin olive oil sold in Australia. CHOICE testing of 28 brands found you can't always trust an oil labelled "extra virgin" is the real deal.

meat pies

The truth about meat pies

Very few meat pies are tasty or packed with meat, while the majority are a very unappetising prospect.

18 May 2010 | The Australian food standards authority stipulates meat pies must contain a minimum of 25% "meat flesh". But not all do.

Bread-iStock-lead

Multigrain bread reviews

Multigrain breads can be top scorers for taste and texture, and rate well nutritionally.

6 May 2010 | We size up the main varieties you'll find at your supermarket.

Pizzas test

Pizza reviews

We reveal which brands and chains offer the healthiest and tastiest options.

15 Mar 2010 | CHOICE compared more than 190 brands and flavours of pizza available nationally from supermarkets (chilled or frozen) or from takeaway chains. We found some big differences in nutritional value – and in value for money.

Grocery shopping online

Grocery shopping online

A CHOICE survey confirms Australians have largely rejected online grocery shopping. We look at the pros and cons.

4 Mar 2010 | The online market is dominated by Coles and Woolworths. We review their offering and highlight some of the smaller players.

Ready meals

Supermarket ready meals

From shelf to microwave, they're ready in minutes. But are these packaged meals any good?

3 Feb 2010 | Supermarket shelves are crammed with shelf-stable meals, costing between $3 and $5. We sort the best from the rest.

Health Reader

15 Dec 2009 |

Coffee hit

Ground coffee reviews

CHOICE’s expert tasters find some of the best brews at very affordable prices.

5 Dec 2009 | CHOICE asked three experts to rate 14 popular brands of ground coffee to find out which offer the best value. We uncover pointers for picking a winner.

Mayonnaise review

Mayonnaise reviews

Food science can't replicate the creaminess of oil and eggs

20 Oct 2009 | Traditional homemade mayonnaise is a luscious blend of oil, egg yolk and vinegar or lemon juice. Supermarket mayo can be a different beast altogether, found our taste testers.

Stocks

Stock reviews

Are packaged stocks anything like the real deal?

8 Oct 2009 | CHOICE looks at 25 stocks – liquid, cubes and powders – and highlights the ones that are most like homemade, the ones with the least salt and the ones we believe represent the best value.

Newsletter sign-up

Get free updates on CHOICE's latest tests and reports.

The Consumer’s Champion

CHOICE advocacy
Over 50 years as the consumer voice

 
Learn more
 
 

Polls

 
 

If you're a member of a supermarket loyalty program, have you noticed any significant savings?

  
69%
 
No
  
14%
 
Not sure
  
16%
 
Yes
  • 627 votes

Sign up to our free
e-Newsletter

Receive FREE email updates of our latest tests, consumer news and CHOICE marketing promotions.