Groceries

Independent and trusted reviews, tests and investigations of everyday food and drink products, including snacks, breakfast cereals, low-fat desserts, and wine.

salad-dressing_Lead

Salad dressing reviews

If you have the basics, making your own salad dressing can be quick and easy.

1 Feb 2012 | CHOICE reviews prepared French, Italian and Caesar salad dressings for nutrition and taste.

low fat dessert LEAD image

Low-fat dessert reviews

Read nutrition labels carefully - a 'low-fat' claim doesn't mean it's healthy.

6 Oct 2011 | CHOICE reviews a range of desserts marketed with low-fat labelling from the fridge and freezer section of supermarkets.

Bowl of muesli

Muesli reviews

We reviewed 159 mueslis to find the best ones for you, whatever your preferences.

17 Aug 2011 | CHOICE reviews 159 mueslis from supermarkets and health food stores to find those that meet our criteria for lowest fat, lowest sugar, highest fibre and more.

Savoury-snacks-potato-chips

Savoury snacks

Beware savoury snacks full of salt and saturated fat.

13 May 2011 | CHOICE looks at which savoury snacks are the healthier options as well as those best avoided.

meat substitutes

Meat substitutes

We found many vegetarian meat substitutes are alarmingly high in salt - and taste bland.

11 Apr 2011 | CHOICE put a handful of vegetarian meat substitutes to the test, rating both nutritional value and taste.

hot-cross-buns-choice

Hot cross buns

One a penny, two a penny… we test a range of hot cross buns to find out which brand comes out on top.

6 Apr 2011 | Our tasters gave us their verdict on fruit, fruit-free and choc chip varieties.

snack_LEAD

Sweet snacks

Beware processed snacks that are loaded with sugar and bad fats.

25 Feb 2011 | We tell you which shelf-stable sweet snacks are worth throwing into your glove box or office drawer, and which should be avoided.

chocolates

Valentine's gift guide

Why not woo with the classics this Valentine's Day?

11 Feb 2011 | CHOICE gives you the lowdown on two Valentine's classics: chocolates and flowers.

Ice_cream_lead

Ice-cream reviews

Creamy, premium or low-fat: which vanilla ice-cream suits your taste?

31 Jan 2011 | CHOICE puts our members and staff to the test to find out which vanilla ice-creams taste the best.

fresh_lead

Fresh food tricks

We reveal the tricks producers and supermarkets use to keep food looking fresh.

30 Nov 2010 | Can you call apples that are nine months old truly fresh?

Newsletter sign-up

Get free updates on CHOICE's latest tests and reports.

The Consumer’s Champion

CHOICE advocacy
Over 50 years as the consumer voice

 
Learn more
 
 

Polls

 
 

If you're a member of a supermarket loyalty program, have you noticed any significant savings?

  
67%
 
No
  
14%
 
Not sure
  
17%
 
Yes
  • 708 votes

Sign up to our free
e-Newsletter

Receive FREE email updates of our latest tests, consumer news and CHOICE marketing promotions.