Groceries

Independent and trusted reviews, tests and investigations of everyday food and drink products, including snacks, breakfast cereals, low-fat desserts, and wine.

meat substitutes

Meat substitutes

We found many vegetarian meat substitutes are alarmingly high in salt - and taste bland.

11 Apr 2011 | CHOICE put a handful of vegetarian meat substitutes to the test, rating both nutritional value and taste.

hot-cross-buns-choice

Hot cross buns

One a penny, two a penny… we test a range of hot cross buns to find out which brand comes out on top.

6 Apr 2011 | Our tasters gave us their verdict on fruit, fruit-free and choc chip varieties.

snack_LEAD

Sweet snacks

Beware processed snacks that are loaded with sugar and bad fats.

25 Feb 2011 | We tell you which shelf-stable sweet snacks are worth throwing into your glove box or office drawer, and which should be avoided.

chocolates

Valentine's gift guide

Why not woo with the classics this Valentine's Day?

11 Feb 2011 | CHOICE gives you the lowdown on two Valentine's classics: chocolates and flowers.

Ice_cream_lead

Ice-cream reviews

Creamy, premium or low-fat: which vanilla ice-cream suits your taste?

31 Jan 2011 | CHOICE puts our members and staff to the test to find out which vanilla ice-creams taste the best.

fresh_lead

Fresh food tricks

We reveal the tricks producers and supermarkets use to keep food looking fresh.

30 Nov 2010 | Can you call apples that are nine months old truly fresh?

Lead

Steak review

Our experts find it's not where you buy your steak that's important. It's knowing what to look for.

22 Nov 2010 | CHOICE puts cuts of steak from Aldi, Coles and Woolworths before a panel of experts to see how they compare with the same cuts from a budget and premium butcher.

nuts_lead

Mixed nuts

Crack the secret of finding the healthiest nut mixes.

18 Nov 2010 | Not all nuts are equal when it comes to nutrition. CHOICE explains what makes them good for us.

Lead_cheese

Cheese reviews

How does a supermarket camembert stack up against one from your local deli?

5 Nov 2010 | CHOICE compares and reviews a range of bries, blues, camemberts and cheddars to find out which brands impress.

supermarket-lead

Battle of the brands

How do the supermarket brands compare with the market leaders for taste, nutrition and value for money?

7 Sep 2010 | CHOICE purchased a total of 163 supemarket products, across 30 different popular food items, and put them to the test.

Newsletter sign-up

Get free updates on CHOICE's latest tests and reports.

The Consumer’s Champion

CHOICE advocacy
Over 50 years as the consumer voice

 
Learn more
 
 

Polls

 
 

If you're a member of a supermarket loyalty program, have you noticed any significant savings?

  
69%
 
No
  
14%
 
Not sure
  
16%
 
Yes
  • 627 votes

Sign up to our free
e-Newsletter

Receive FREE email updates of our latest tests, consumer news and CHOICE marketing promotions.