Food and drink

Independent and trusted tests, user trials and investigations of food, beverages, organic produce and supermarkets.

Top 10 Popular Articles

Coffee hit

Ground coffee reviews

05 Dec 2009 | CHOICE asked three experts to rate 14 popular brands of ground coffee to find out which offer the best value. We uncover pointers for picking a winner.   More »

Running water

Water filters: do you need one?

19 Oct 2008 | Filtering the water at the tap is one way of removing the taste of additives. CHOICE looks at the pros and cons of purchasing a water filter.   More »

Breakfast cereal

Breakfast cereal reviews

04 Oct 2012 | We look beyond the names and claims to uncover the breakfast cereals that provide the most nutritious start to your day.  More »

Glasses of milk

Milk products review

10 Sep 2009 | CHOICE has skimmed off the marketing hype and found that generic brands of milk are much the same as the equivalent big national brands.   More »

plates of food

Food additives you should avoid

02 May 2008 | We look at the latest research into additives that health questions have been raised about - and give CHOICE’s verdict on which ones you’d do best to avoid.  More »

bag of groceries

Supermarket price survey 2009

26 Nov 2009 | Two years on from our last survey, CHOICE hit the supermarket aisles with a shopping list of staples. We found grocery prices have risen against a background of little competition.  More »

plastics-lead-with-border

Plastics and food

07 Jan 2010 | There’s a growing body of scientific evidence that suggests some plastics are not as safe as we're led to believe.  More »

sparkling_lead

Sparkling wine and champagne reviews

19 Dec 2012 | CHOICE's wine experts tested 60 of the best-selling sparkling wines, including champagne. Some of the best buys cost under $10.  More »

Stocks

Stock reviews

08 Oct 2009 | CHOICE looks at 25 stocks – liquid, cubes and powders – and highlights the ones that are most like homemade, the ones with the least salt and the ones we believe represent the best value.   More »

Bowl of muesli

Muesli reviews

17 Aug 2011 | CHOICE reviews 159 mueslis from supermarkets and health food stores to find those that meet our criteria for lowest fat, lowest sugar, highest fibre and more.  More »

Top 10 Recent Articles

yoghurts ready meals juices and other drinks in supermarket fridge chiller

Extending the shelf life of chilled food

19 Sep 2014 | The use-by or best-before dates on some food in supermarket fridges can be much longer than you'd expect for fresh produce. We look at how the shelf life of chilled foods can be extended.  More »

wine-medals

Wine awards

18 Aug 2014 | Is a medal on the label a genuine indicator of a good quality wine, or merely a marketing ploy? We take a look at wine show awards to determine their value in choosing a bottle.  More »

Fermented foods in jars

Fermented foods

09 Jul 2014 | From yoghurt and sauerkraut to kefir and kombucha, CHOICE reviews different types of fermented foods to find whether they live up to claimed health benefits.  More »

a bowl of chia seeds

Chia seeds: superfood or fad?

24 Jul 2014 | Once the domain of health food stores, chia has gone mainstream. We check out this seed’s superfood credentials.  More »

breakfast on the go business woman eating apple on the run

Breakfast on-the-go products

24 Jun 2014 | The right breakfast can mean the difference between a good start to a day or a sluggish one – but finding a quick and simple option among the breakfast biscuits and other breakfast-on-the-go products can be tricky.   More »

What are the real facts about gluten free?

Is gluten-free food healthy?

22 Apr 2014 | For many people gluten-free is a lifestyle choice to "feel better" or lose weight, but many of gluten-free foods are low in nutrition and high in kilojoules, fat and sugar.  More »

Woman training at gym

Protein supplements

28 Apr 2014 | Protein supplements (mainly in the form of drink powders and bars) are marketed for weight loss, muscle mass building and post-exercise recovery, targeting dieters, elderly people and athletes. They may be helpful sometimes, but whether they're necessary is debatable.   More »

Anzac biscuits

ANZAC biscuits review

24 Apr 2014 | Choice tests five brands of ANZAC biscuits, including Unibic, Coles and Woolworths, with an expert review and a lay panel taste test.  More »

Glasses of yoghurt

How to choose a healthy yoghurt

06 May 2014 | Yoghurts are marketed as healthy, but CHOICE has found some varieties have more sugar than a regular ice cream. Find out how to pick the healthiest yoghurts from the nutrition traps.   More »

Hot cross buns reviews

Hot cross buns on test

14 Apr 2014 | Using an expert judge and some enthusiastic taste testers, CHOICE put nine varieties of traditional fruit hot cross buns to the test.  More »

Newsletter sign-up

Get free updates on CHOICE's latest tests and reports.

The Consumer’s Champion

CHOICE advocacy
Over 50 years as the consumer voice

 
Learn more
 
 

Polls

 
 

If you're a member of a supermarket loyalty program, have you noticed any significant savings?

  
67%
 
No
  
15%
 
Not sure
  
17%
 
Yes
  • 678 votes

Video gallery

 
 

Sign up to our free
e-Newsletter

Receive FREE email updates of our latest tests, consumer news and CHOICE marketing promotions.