Diet and exercise

Independent and trusted tests, user trials and investigations of fitness equipment, nutrition and weight loss.

Top 10 Popular Articles

weightscales_340_232

Body fat scales reviews

10 Dec 2009 | We tested 12 bathroom scales that measure body fat percentage as well as weight. But can they make you appear healthier than you really are?   More »

Goggles on trial

Swimming goggles

30 Nov 2009 | We reviewed 17 goggles priced between $3 and $50, selected from the major brands. See our top 10 buys and the technical advances worth paying for.  More »

Woman doing exercise

Common exercise myths busted

02 Sep 2007 | There are many myths about exercise — fictions which are endlessly perpetuated and validated through sheer repetition.   More »

Running shoe cross-section

Running shoes buying guide

10 Mar 2008 | Choosing the right pair of running shoes can be a frustrating (and expensive) task. CHOICE discovered even professional runners can find the experience overwhelming.   More »

Gastric banding

Gastric banding

19 Jan 2010 | Gastric banding is promoted as a safe, easy and effective way for obese people to lose weight. CHOICE investigates the claims.   More »

Free_weights_lead

Home gym on a shoestring

25 Nov 2009 | Think you need lots of space and money to set up an effective home gym? CHOICE's shopping list of equipment comes in at about $100.   More »

On the treadmill

Treadmills buying guide

03 Sep 2010 | We all know we need to exercise, but few of us have the time, or the motivation to fit it into our lives. That's where the home treadmill comes in.  More »

Diet plan

Pharmacy diet plans

20 Jan 2009 | Pharmacy diet plans may help to shed extra kilos quickly, but most fail to deal effectively with the complex broader issues around weight loss.   More »

Woman on treadmill

Home fitness equipment

05 Sep 2005 | We asked readers who own exercise bikes, treadmills and elliptical trainers what makes for a good or bad purchase decision.  More »

heart-rate-monitors

Heart rate monitor reviews

12 Nov 2009 | Choice tested 19 heart rate monitors for ease of use and performance, priced between $30 and $399.  More »

Top 10 Recent Articles

fitness trackers lead

Fitness trackers review

29 Oct 2014 | Looking for the perfect companion to help you to keep to your fitness goals? We've put the latest fitness bands from Fitbit, Jawbone, Samsung and more through their paces.  More »

Woman demonstrating Total Gym XLS

Home exercise equipment review

19 Aug 2014 | CHOICE reviews exercise equipment advertised on TV, including Pilates Power Gym, Total Gym XLS, Ab Coaster and more. Experts rate how useful, safe and fun they are.  More »

detox-in-a-box-lead

Do diet detox products work?

09 Apr 2014 | We ask the experts just how well diet detox products work when it comes to removing toxins and getting healthy.  More »

Get fit and lose weight with apps and gadgets

How to get fit and lose weight with apps and gadgets

05 Mar 2014 | Will a shiny new wearable fitness tracker or smartphone app help keep you on track with your health goals?   More »

The Davies family tries out five fitness watches

Fitness watches home test

19 Feb 2014 | The very athletic Davies family give us a rundown on a Garmin Forerunner, Magellan Switch, Polar and Tom Tom multi-sport fitness watches.  More »

Online diet programs: woman exercising

Online diet programs

02 Oct 2013 | CHOICE compares five popular online weight loss programs: the Michelle Bridges 12 Week Body Transformation, the Biggest Loser Club, SureSlim, Weight Watchers, and the Ashy Bines Bikini Body Challenge.  More »

GolfProduct

First look: Golfsense 3D golf sensor

04 Sep 2013 | See your golf swing on your smart device as well as speed, tempo and angle information to help find out what to fix and what to keep for a more repeatable swing.  More »

ONLINE_Lead_24hourGyms_New

Fitness à la carte

14 Aug 2013 | Gyms are diversifying to provide 24-hour access, fast workouts and specific types of workout, like CrossFit. Which one is right for you?  More »

Fitbit_DSC_2591_ultra_blue

Fitbit first look

13 Aug 2012 | We take a look at the Fitbit Ultra, which helps you track your walks and runs, as well as calories burned.   More »

Fitbit One

Fitbit One first look

03 May 2013 | Find out which additional features set the Fitbit One apart from its predecessor and whether it's a must-have gadget.  More »

The Consumer’s Champion

CHOICE advocacy
Over 50 years as the consumer voice

Join CHOICE Online

Discover the benefits of membership.
Just $7.98/month
*Billed quarterly as $23.95

 
Learn more
 
 

Polls

 
 

When trying to choose an effective anti-perspirant, which label information is most important to you:

  
22%
 
The percentage of active ingredient (aluminium)
  
6%
 
The names (but not amounts) of all the ingredients in the product
  
31%
 
Both of the above
  
38%
 
Don't care, as long as it smells nice
  • 1025 votes

Video gallery

  • Fitness experts

    exercise-and-fitness-experts-videoKarina Bray talks to three types of exercise experts - a fitness trainer, a sports physiotherapist, and an exercise physiologist.
     
  • What to look for - Cross trainers

    What to look for - Cross trainers Jane Flemming talks about cross trainers, and raises some child safety issues.
     
  • Surfboard comparison

    Surfboard comparison We test a wide range of epoxy and fibreglass boards to see which comes out on top.
     
 
 

Sign up to our free
e-Newsletter

Receive FREE email updates of our latest tests, consumer news and CHOICE marketing promotions.