Phones and mobile devices

Independent and trusted reviews, tests and buying guides. Compare price and performance of phones and mobile devices. Including Ebook readers, home phones, mobile phones and portable media players.

Top 10 Popular Articles

Guy on mobile phone

Mobile phone plans buying guide

01 Mar 2009 | Finding the right mobile phone plan can be a daunting task. Which provider has the best coverage in your area? Pre-paid or fixed-term contract, and if contract: what monthly amount?  More »

620

Mobile phones GSM and 3G review

19 Nov 2009 | CHOICE tests 55 GSM and 3G phones to find the best.  More »

iphone gps reviews

iPhone GPS apps review and compare

08 Jul 2010 | Turn your iPhone into a satellite navigation GPS with one of these handy new apps.  More »

Smartphones review and compare

Smartphone reviews

08 Jan 2014 | We review the LG G2 and Google Nexus, as well as the latest models from Apple, Samsung, Sony and Nokia.  More »

nextG

Next G mobile phone reviews

27 Jun 2013 | We reveal how 17 mobile phones available on the Next G 850MHz network perform in the Australian outback.  More »

Cordless phone with anwsering machine

Cordless phones with answering machine review 2009

05 Jun 2009 | All phones tested are charged via a base station that sends the signal wirelessly to the handset, so you can have a chat while moving around the house.  More »

LandlinePhones_LEAD_TinCans004

Cordless phones without answering machines review

21 Jul 2011 | We look at models that work with an extra handset, providing added versatility.  More »

Mobile phone

Mobile camera phones review

26 Mar 2009 | It's official, Australians can’t do without their mobile phone, in fact there are now more active mobile phones than people, with 21 million currently in circulation.   More »

In car DVD player

In car DVD players review and compare

05 Oct 2007 | We tested eight in-car DVD players of two different configurations - remote screens and built in screens.  More »

Amazon kindle

Video review - Amazon Kindle

18 Nov 2009 | Steve Duncombe reviews this latest ebook reader from online giant, Amazon.com  More »

Top 10 Recent Articles

fl-lg-flex-lead

LG G Flex review

08 Apr 2014 | LG’s latest effort to make the large screen smartphone more human friendly is to curve the screen to the shape of the face.   More »

The Panasonic KX-PRX150AZB hybrid phone

Panasonic KX-PRX150 review

27 Mar 2014 | Is Panasonic's KX-PRX150 hybrid landline / smartphone the perfect phone? CHOICE called in to find out.  More »

Woman reading her ebook

Ebook reader reviews

25 Mar 2014 | Find out which models have the best readability and design for reading eBooks, and are the easiest to use.  More »

online-lead-fl-stickr-trackr

TrackR first look

02 Apr 2014 | The TrackR device is designed to help you find your lost stuff. Use an app to make the TrackR beep and let you know it's close by.   More »

Smartphones review and compare

Smartphone reviews

08 Jan 2014 | We review the LG G2 and Google Nexus, as well as the latest models from Apple, Samsung, Sony and Nokia.  More »

ONLINE_Smartphones_Lead

Quick look: smartphones

28 Oct 2013 | The latest smartphones go way beyond simply browsing the web and taking the occasional photo.  More »

ONLINE_FL_GoogleGlass_Ros_NEW

Google Glass

16 Aug 2013 | Google Glass has lots to offer if you want internet searches and directions, or to take a photo without reaching for your phone.  More »

landline phones

Landline phone reviews

24 Jul 2013 | We review a range of landline phones - including phones that communicate with your smartphone, and others that can work in a blackout.   More »

amaysim-SIM-card-1

Amaysim first look

19 Nov 2013 | This SIM only player helps simplify the pricing structure for phone calls, text and internet data access.  More »

telco-shared-data-plans-lead

Telco shared data plans

08 Aug 2013 | We look at how shared data plans for mobile devices could save you money - and why Australian telcos aren't offering them.  More »

CHOICE Blog

Join the debate about consumer issues. 

Join CHOICE Online

Discover the benefits of membership.
Just $7.98/month
*Billed quarterly as $23.95

 
Learn more
 

Sign up to our free
e-Newsletter

Receive FREE email updates of our latest tests, consumer news and CHOICE marketing promotions.